|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				i dont
			 
			
			have my book on me -- but if im going by if a team with the baseline gets fouled before the throw in is completed and the throw in will on the baseline then they retain thr right to run baseline. I dont see why because of a double foul going to POI would make that throw in a spot throw in. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Rule 4-36 (new rule this year). When there is a double foul, you resume from the point of interruption. Interesting though because you'd think that Team A would lose their rate to run the baseline due to A1 being involved in a foul. I don't think this case is specifically addressed for NFHS. College refs... is it addressed in NCAA? Z | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			The NFHS rule on running the endline is 7-5-7. "After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line." Note that the right to run the endline is retained after a common foul. A double foul is not a common foul. NFHS 4-19-2: "A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul." So A does not retain the right to run the endline. However, as Z pointed out, you do go the POI (which does not, however, include running the endline). 
				__________________ "It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Little twists like this keep me intrigued in rules! My preference is that A keeps the endline. I guess I am a purest when I implement Point of Interruption.   
				__________________ Pope Francis | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: no possession arrow
			 Quote: 
 
				__________________ Score the Basket!!!!   | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Re: no possession arrow
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Re: Re: no possession arrow
			 Quote: 
 
				__________________ Score the Basket!!!!   | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			Team A does NOT retain the right to run the endline.  The rule as BITS quoted above requires that when a COMMON FOUL is called on Team B, Team A will retain the right to run the endline.  The new rule on POI does NOT supercede that. [Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 21st, 2006 at 04:02 PM] 
				__________________ "...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |