The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   .3 seconds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24340-3-seconds.html)

Nevadaref Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:

Originally posted by smoref
This didn't happen to me but was brought up in the locker room.

.3 second left in game Team A has ball OOB in front court. They are down by 1 point. A1 throws the ball toward the basket. Player B1 jumps up deflects the ball. The ball goes off the backboard, time expires, then the ball goes in the basket.

Do you count the basket?

Basket is good!!!!

I am going to take you through why. Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

The situation in casebook refers you to rule 4-41-4. However, you must also take a look at art..6 which will refer you to 5-2-5 which covers .3 second or less.

Bottom line basket is good!!!!


Better try the top line then. A basket only counts if the ball is live when it passes throught the basket. The ball is dead when the horn sounds unless it is in the air on a try/tap. A try or tap can only occur by a team attempting to put the ball in their own basket.

Ok, I am wrong. It is not a legitimate try or tap.

No Basket!!!!!!

And you just became a better official. :)

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 20th, 2006 at 03:06 AM]

johnny1784 Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
You cannot call 3 seconds at that point of the game. :(

Sorry, wrong post. :D

Peace

He posted... <font size = 14>.3</font size>

:D


HawkeyeCubP Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:38am

Thank you everyone. I've been working it over in my head since leaving the office and I concur with your explanations.

I did think of one other thing (which is extremely silly, but it could happen, and I'd be suprised if there hasn't ever been a case written about it): Gym or arena with high ceiling - A is ahead by one or two points - A1, in a celebratory display, heaves the ball up into the air after receiving the inbounds pass in A's backcourt - ball is released prior to horn sounding, and subsequently goes through B's basket. No points awarded, I suppose. But I wouldn't want to have to explain it to B's head coach, who would've undoubtedly seen it.

Anyone ever seen or read of anything like that?

Thank you again to everyone for your responses.

Respectfully submitted,

assignmentmaker Fri Jan 20, 2006 01:07am

A reading from the book of . . .
 
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 20, 2006 03:32am

Re: A reading from the book of . . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's <font color = red>try or tap</font> is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "

Exactly. And if it ain't a "try or tap", like...maybe if it's a throw-in instead, then it doesn't count. Which is what everybody has been saying.

SmokeEater Fri Jan 20, 2006 09:33am

Re: Re: A reading from the book of . . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's <font color = red>try or tap</font> is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "

Exactly. And if it ain't a "try or tap", like...maybe if it's a throw-in instead, then it doesn't count. Which is what everybody has been saying.


Or a "celebratory toss in the air". - Not a try so no basket.

truerookie Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:00am

How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

truerookie Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:

Originally posted by smoref
This didn't happen to me but was brought up in the locker room.

.3 second left in game Team A has ball OOB in front court. They are down by 1 point. A1 throws the ball toward the basket. Player B1 jumps up deflects the ball. The ball goes off the backboard, time expires, then the ball goes in the basket.

Do you count the basket?

Basket is good!!!!

I am going to take you through why. Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

The situation in casebook refers you to rule 4-41-4. However, you must also take a look at art..6 which will refer you to 5-2-5 which covers .3 second or less.

Bottom line basket is good!!!!


Better try the top line then. A basket only counts if the ball is live when it passes throught the basket. The ball is dead when the horn sounds unless it is in the air on a try/tap. A try or tap can only occur by a team attempting to put the ball in their own basket.

Ok, I am wrong. It is not a legitimate try or tap.

No Basket!!!!!!

And you just became a better official. :)

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 20th, 2006 at 03:06 AM]

That is the objective! Thanks Nevada

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

That situation is different in that there's no horn going off before the ball went through in that case play, thus making the ball dead. That's exactly why there's </b>no</b> basket in the play that we've been discussing.

It's two completely different situations that are still using the same principle-- i.e. a tipped throw-in is <b>not</b> a tap or try.

assignmentmaker Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:16pm

Re: Re: A reading from the book of . . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's <font color = red>try or tap</font> is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "

Exactly. And if it ain't a "try or tap", like...maybe if it's a throw-in instead, then it doesn't count. Which is what everybody has been saying.

Exactly.

Ref in PA Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by smoref
This didn't happen to me but was brought up in the locker room.

.3 second left in game Team A has ball OOB in front court. They are down by 1 point. A1 throws the ball toward the basket. Player B1 jumps up deflects the ball. The ball goes off the backboard, time expires, then the ball goes in the basket.

Do you count the basket?

No basket and here is why.

4-41 defines shooting, try or tap for goal. Since B1 deflected an inbounds pass towards A's basket, this does not qualify as a try or tap for goal by B1.

6-7 defines when a ball becomes dead with 6-7-6 becoming the important article (the period ending)

5-1-1 says a goal can only be counted when a live ball enters the goal from above.

So, the ball is dead when the period ends in this case and since the ball did not enter the basket before the end of the period, no basket is counted, even though the ball went through the goal after the horn ending the period.

Texas Aggie Fri Jan 20, 2006 02:20pm

If it went into the home team's basket, you better run like hell after canceling it. Nobody in the gym is going to like it.

truerookie Fri Jan 20, 2006 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

That situation is different in that there's no horn going off before the ball went through in that case play, thus making the ball dead. That's exactly why there's </b>no</b> basket in the play that we've been discussing.

It's two completely different situations that are still using the same principle-- i.e. a tipped throw-in is <b>not</b> a tap or try.

Thanks, J. Ref.

truerookie Fri Jan 20, 2006 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

That situation is different in that there's no horn going off before the ball went through in that case play, thus making the ball dead. That's exactly why there's </b>no</b> basket in the play that we've been discussing.

It's two completely different situations that are still using the same principle-- i.e. a tipped throw-in is <b>not</b> a tap or try.


Thanks, JRef

Ref Daddy Fri Jan 20, 2006 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Texas Aggie
If it went into the home team's basket, you better run like hell after canceling it. Nobody in the gym is going to like it.
True, true, true.

This is all buried so deep down in the rulebook, I guarantee a reaction of epic proportions.

Can you imagine the reaction waving this off?




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1