The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally posted by PABlue
In a highschool game I witnessed a mistake was made on the number of team fouls. Foul shots were awarded and one point was scored. Minutes later,about four, the table called the ref to the table and informed him of the mistake. The ref then corrected the number of team fouls BUT also took away the one point. Is this the correct call? Thanks for the help.
The concept is called "Correctable Errors" and should be known to all officials. There are circumstances where errors (like these) are deemed to be able to be corrected and limited to a certain period of time in the game.

After the described period of time - errors are no longer correctable and play continues.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1