The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NW PA
Posts: 146
In a highschool game I witnessed a mistake was made on the number of team fouls. Foul shots were awarded and one point was scored. Minutes later,about four, the table called the ref to the table and informed him of the mistake. The ref then corrected the number of team fouls BUT also took away the one point. Is this the correct call? Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 01:01pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
It would depend. If it was the first dead ball, then it was correct. If it wasn't the first dead ball, then it wasn't correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
The book (and scoreboard) can and should be corrected to reflect the right number of team fouls at anytime during the game. It was probably too late to cancel the point due to the unmerited FT though.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
In our rules meetings, we are told never ever take points off the board.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 02:59pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
You were told wrong. Might want to look at 2-10-4 that could possibly take points off the board.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by OklahomaRef
In our rules meetings, we are told never ever take points off the board.
Why in the world would somebody say that? What if the timer has a brain cramp and "accidentally" puts an extra 5 points for the home team on the board?

You should probably stop using the word "never" so much.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Scoreboard is an accurate reflection of what's in the official book.

If they disagree then points should be added or deleted to match the Home Scores (official) book.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally posted by PABlue
In a highschool game I witnessed a mistake was made on the number of team fouls. Foul shots were awarded and one point was scored. Minutes later,about four, the table called the ref to the table and informed him of the mistake. The ref then corrected the number of team fouls BUT also took away the one point. Is this the correct call? Thanks for the help.
The concept is called "Correctable Errors" and should be known to all officials. There are circumstances where errors (like these) are deemed to be able to be corrected and limited to a certain period of time in the game.

After the described period of time - errors are no longer correctable and play continues.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
I think what we were talking about was if a team scored and and a correctable error was found do you take points off. I dont think the original post had anything to do with the scorer putting up extra points. So if a a ref calls a foul...seventh foul...no one catches it...team scores..next dead ball it's caught you take points of then?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by OklahomaRef
I think what we were talking about was if a team scored and and a correctable error was found do you take points off. I dont think the original post had anything to do with the scorer putting up extra points. So if a a ref calls a foul...seventh foul...no one catches it...team scores..next dead ball it's caught you take points of then?
During the dead ball as that shot falls through the net, you can correct the error, but you don't take the points off.

See my very detailed and exhaustive series of articles on this topic on the paid side in 2005. Personally, I think it's worth the subscription price just for this one series. But I don't like to brag.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1