The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2006, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
It all goes by in a flash.

Rule 4-25-1 says a held ball occurs when: "Opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness."

But what about the situation where A is already in control of the ball when B puts hands on? Somewhere along a continuum, it would appear, at least the following things can happen:

1. A, feeling a tug on the ball, holds tight . . . and travels.

2. B gains enough hold on the ball that - despite there being no explicit support that I know of in the Rules - officials consider that A is no longer 'in control', and there is then the possibility that "control cannot be obtained without undue roughness."

This, and other conundrums both real and imaginary, are addressed, if not explained away, in my new rules book "Rational Basketball".




__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1