The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 15, 2005, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member

I am new to this forum although I have been a soccer referee for a number of years. I watch and play basketball for fun and I am trying to better understand the rules.

What constitutes an offensive player leaving the lane to reset the 3 second count when there has been no shot? Can he/she step outside the lane and just pickup the foot in the lane? Must the player totally clear the vertical plane defined by the boundaries? Something in between? I assume standing on the line is in the lane?

Old Sat Jan 15, 2005, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member

NFHS
This is staight from the case book...

*9.7.2 SITUATION: A1 is standing with one foot inside and the other outside the three-second restricted area. A1 lifts the foot from the restricted area and returns it there without touching it first to the nonrestricted area. RULING: Violation. This action does not terminate the three-second count. The count goes on since merely lifting the foot from the restricted space is interpreted as an attempt to evade the rule and avoid its purpose. However, there is no three-second count during rebounding action or during a throw-in. The count on a player in the restricted area is suspended when that player begins a try for goal.
Old Sat Jan 15, 2005, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by AirForceDude
NFHS