The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
A1 is lining up during a jump ball facing the center circle about even with the 28 foot line. His back is to Team A's basket. Team A has a pre-set play since their center is about 5 inches taller than Team B's center. The play is designed so A's center tips direct to A1 who turns and drives towards the basket. I had seen this team do this in a prior game. As the teams line-up for the tap B1 lines up behind A1 so he can not turn and drive towards the basket. I am positioned next to Team A's coach ready to chop the clock to start the game. He keeps telling me that B1 can not line up behind his player. I did not call it becuase I think that as long as they are not on the center circle there is nothing wrong with this. I don't say anything either because I am not sure (I think I'm right). After looking it up in the rule book I can not find a specific reference to this being wrong. I still believe I am right on this and, as long as they are not on the circle, there is nothing wrong with this. B1 was not so close that A1 could not get a full step if he had the ball and turned around. Am I correct and, if not, can someone tell me where this is in the rules. I have this team again in a few weeks and it may come up again.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1