The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2006, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally posted by sc/nc ref

What if he did have control of the ball? (Dribbling, falls out of bounds, and comes back in). What would be the call in that situation?
Thanks for your help.
If A1 is dribbling and his momentum carries him off the court and he doesn't touch the ball with 2 hands the player may come back inbounds and either continue the dribble or pick it up.

If A1 is holding the ball and falling out of bounds then it depends if he established a pivot foot. If a pivot foot is established then he has to throw it to the ground before he lifts the pivot foot. If he jumps in the air and comes back in then it would be a traveling violation.

An easy way to think of this play is to take the out of bounds line out of the equation and determine if the player could do the same thing in the middle of the court. You wouldn't let a player holding the ball in the middle of the court, jump in the air, throw it to the ground and let him touch it again, would you?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1