The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2006, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
I know a timeout cannot be called by the team scoring a basket once the other team gains possession of the ball. At what point is it determined that they gain possession? Is it when they grab the ball out of the net, when they have the ball out of bounds to inbound it, or when they actually inbound the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2006, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
It's when the ball is at the inbounder's "disposal," and is the same time when the 5-second count for the inbounding starts.

That's the official's judgment, and the last time it was discussed led to a lenghty thread. Suffice it to say that it's no later than when the inbounding team is holding the ball OOB for the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2006, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Thumbs up

I would say as sooon as the ball checks the nets and even if it hits the ground. Once the other team has the ball and it is out of bounds, then no time out. Pure judgement and timing!

[Edited by IREFU2 on Jan 10th, 2006 at 09:35 AM]
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2006, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Bob was given you the correct rule interp.

Common sense wise, if the request is reasonably made before you would normally begin your 5 second count, then grant the TO.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2006, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
QUICKLY !!!

The coach is very likely making the request as the ball clears the net. As an official you need to be ready to recognise and acknowledge his request. I would recommend that you don't make the coach pay for your inattentiveness or your failure to recognise the situation.

Be ready. Call it quick. I have yet to have a coach (now becoming the offensive team and inbounding the ball) get excited that I have taken away an opportunity for his team by calling a TO after his player has momentarily secured the ball.

If there was any dispute, I would accept the responsibility and respond to the coach that, "The request was made before you secured the ball. It was only my inability to quickly acknowledge the request that put us in this situation. Time out, White."

But I'm not going to be slow about it. If I immediately look to the bench and the coach is not calling time out... and I immediately look back to the secured ball... it is too late... missed opportunity, coach.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1