The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to tjchamp
B1 and B2 grab a loose ball and each are holding on to the ball. Partner whistles for a traveling violation. B coach realizes this is not a travel and looks to me. I was quite sure (but not 100%) it was not a travel either but deferred to my partner who had more experience than me.

Talked to partner at first break after that and told him I didn't think it was a travel. He indicated he had been advised on this very issue by clinicians to call this a travel. Something about 4 points on the floor equaled a travel. I got home, looked at the case book, and it seems 4.44.2b fits my case to not call a travel.

Two questions. What should I have done about the initial call given my uncertainty? And 2, what should I have called had it happened again that game? I wouldn't want to be inconsistent.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 05:23pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,632
Nothing.

One of these days officials are going to have to realize you are not going to be able to change every call you do not agree with.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 07:31pm
PAOfficial
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You do nothing on the initial call....you can't do anything. If your partner calls a shooting foul and you think its a clean block, you can't do anything, so why is this any different?

As for your call and being consistant, call your game. Two wrongs usually DON'T make a right. Usually.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,095
Quote:
Originally posted by PAOfficial
You do nothing on the initial call....you can't do anything. If your partner calls a shooting foul and you think its a clean block, you can't do anything, so why is this any different?

As for your call and being consistant, call your game. Two wrongs usually DON'T make a right. Usually.
You can't change your partners judgement but can tell him what a rule should be.

If they count the basket on a backboard slap. Are you going to stand by and let them?

If they call 3 seconds on a throwin? Will you let them?

If they call a blocking foul on #2 who was standing in front of you, 10' from any opponent, will you let them?

If they call a 10 second backcourt violation after the team had it in the backcourt for 9 seconds, took a timeout, then threw it in and held it for only 1 second, will you let them?


[Edited by Camron Rust on Jan 8th, 2006 at 07:51 PM]
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 09:13pm
PAOfficial
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Totally different circumstances, reason being that at the time of the call, tjchamp did not know it was a misinterpretation of a rule, for all he knew his partner simply kicked it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,095
Quote:
Originally posted by PAOfficial
Totally different circumstances, reason being that at the time of the call, tjchamp did not know it was a misinterpretation of a rule, for all he knew his partner simply kicked it.
It sounded like he suspected the partner blew the rule but was unsure himself and chose to let it be.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2006, 12:39am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,632
Either way every call cannot be up for debate. A travel call is made for all kinds of reasons and I do not know how any official is going to read the mind of their partner's mind. Remember he did not know why the official made the call until much later.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2006, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Live or let die!

Let your partner live or die by the call.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2006, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
B1 and B2 grab a loose ball and each are holding on to the ball. Partner whistles for a traveling violation. B coach realizes this is not a travel and looks to me. I was quite sure (but not 100%) it was not a travel either but deferred to my partner who had more experience than me.

Talked to partner at first break after that and told him I didn't think it was a travel. He indicated he had been advised on this very issue by clinicians to call this a travel. Something about 4 points on the floor equaled a travel. I got home, looked at the case book, and it seems 4.44.2b fits my case to not call a travel.

Two questions. What should I have done about the initial call given my uncertainty? And 2, what should I have called had it happened again that game? I wouldn't want to be inconsistent.
My opinion: On the initial call, leave it alone. Maybe he called it becasue of the 4-points misconception, maybe he saw both players move the pivot foot, maybe one player had it first and travelled, maybe it was a "game management" call (but I don't see how, in this situations)...

If the coach asks your partner for an explanation, and you hear him say the 4-points BS, then speak to your partner and explain your understanding of the rule. If you're 110% sure of the rule, tell your partner that.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2006, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
If you're 110% sure of the rule, tell your partner that.
So you're saying you should never tell your partner?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2006, 10:22am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,734
Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
B1 and B2 grab a loose ball and each are holding on to the ball. Partner whistles for a traveling violation. B coach realizes this is not a travel and looks to me. I was quite sure (but not 100%) it was not a travel either but deferred to my partner who had more experience than me.

Talked to partner at first break after that and told him I didn't think it was a travel. He indicated he had been advised on this very issue by clinicians to call this a travel. Something about 4 points on the floor equaled a travel. I got home, looked at the case book, and it seems 4.44.2b fits my case to not call a travel.

Two questions. What should I have done about the initial call given my uncertainty? And 2, what should I have called had it happened again that game? I wouldn't want to be inconsistent.
It's one possession -- put the ball in play and work the game. Talk to your partner in the locker room after the game.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2006, 09:14pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
If they call a 10 second backcourt violation after the team had it in the backcourt for 9 seconds, took a timeout, then threw it in and held it for only 1 second, will you let them?
Only if the game was on a ship going backwards over the international date line.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2006, 08:52am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser

It's one possession -- put the ball in play and work the game. Talk to your partner in the locker room after the game. [/B]

One possession this time with potential for more occurances. I agree to keep calling your game and let your partner deal with his call. Nothing should be done about that call, except what you already did, you discussed it during a break or after the game.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1