The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Sorry if this is in the case book, but I don't have it with me. I've seen this answered two ways in the forum previously, once regarding a 3 point shot, that said this would count for 2 points instead of 3, once that said no points should be awarded, both using the same reasoning that the try has ended.

Situation: A1 bounces ball hard on the ground during a fastbreak to give an alley-oop pass to A2 for a dunk. A2 misses the pass, ball goes in.

Count it? If so, how would this be entered in the scorebook, since there is no try for a field goal?

If not, what would be the call and how would it be administered? Or would the ball somehow still be live?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 10:23am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
It counts as 2 points. it can't be a try, by rule. A try ends when the thrown ball touches the floor- rule 4-41-4. It is a live ball entering the basket though, so it still counts. Case book play 4-41-4SitB is close and gives you the general concept.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
I've seen this answered two ways in the forum previously, once regarding a 3 point shot, that said this would count for 2 points instead of 3, once that said no points should be awarded, both using the same reasoning that the try has ended.
The play where the basket wouldn't count is slightly different. In that play, the ball bounces, then the horn sounds, then the ball goes in the basket. In that case, the horn causes the ball to become dead immediately, b/c it isn't a try. So you can't score the basket.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to lukealex
If the ball bounces behind the 3-point line, would it be 3 points?

I packed the rule books yesterday, so if somebody has the reference that would be great too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 267
I'd say still only 2 points. A try from beyond the arc is worth three if it goes in, but since this isn't a try I'd only award 2.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Luke (I am your father, you knob!)

Once the ball bounces (and even before it bounces, actually), it is no longer a try. Therefore, even it goes in, it only counts for 2.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 04:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Luke (I am your father, you knob!)

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Luke (I am your father, you knob!)
Yoohoo, Mr. Spelling Guy...

Paging Mr. Spelling Guy...

__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Luke (I am your father, you knob!)
Yoohoo, Mr. Spelling Guy...

Paging Mr. Spelling Guy...
What? Is it spelled differently in Canadian?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 09:51pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Luke (I am your father, you knob!)
Yoohoo, Mr. Spelling Guy...

Paging Mr. Spelling Guy...
What? Is it spelled differently in Canadian?
There is a comma followed by 'eh'
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1