The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2006, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Arctic Circle
Posts: 112
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnBark
Question

NFHS rules...B2's 3 point attempt is in flight, B1 is charged with a pushing foul on A1 as the ball goes in. Team A is in the bonus.

Count the goal and A1 goes to the other end for free throws, right?

since there is no team control on an attempt, this is not a team control foul situation, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2006, 07:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,583
Quote:
Originally posted by JohnBark
NFHS rules...B2's 3 point attempt is in flight, B1 is charged with a pushing foul on A1 as the ball goes in. Team A is in the bonus.

Count the goal and A1 goes to the other end for free throws, right?

since there is no team control on an attempt, this is not a team control foul situation, correct?
Yes and yes.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 08:46am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Same question NCAA rules? Is it a different result?
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
That was a question on our state (TX) exam this year and the answer is POI since the basket was made. The rule that was referenced is 6-4-3g (I think). I don't agree with that answer, but that's what was given.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by SmokeEater
Same question NCAA rules? Is it a different result?
Nope. Same answer. No team control, so shoot the bonus.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
That was a question on our state (TX) exam this year and the answer is POI since the basket was made.
What does POI have to do with this situation? Maybe the question was about a double foul during a try? You might want to recheck that one, Texref.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 09:46am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Thanks Chuck, can you provide a reference. I can't seem to find it while at work.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
That was a question on our state (TX) exam this year and the answer is POI since the basket was made.
What does POI have to do with this situation? Maybe the question was about a double foul during a try? You might want to recheck that one, Texref.
Chuck,

You are correct, it was a double foul. My fault. I reread the question. But the answer still went to POI, is that correct or should it be an AP situation with a double foul in this situation?

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by SmokeEater
Thanks Chuck, can you provide a reference. I can't seem to find it while at work.
There's no AR on the exact play that I can find. The only reference that I can find is the definition of team control foul, which is 4-26-9. "A team-control foul is a common foul that is committed by a member of a team that has team control."

Since there's no team control during a try, it doesn't fit the definition, so you shoot the bonus.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
You are correct, it was a double foul. My fault. I reread the question. But the answer still went to POI, is that correct or should it be an AP situation with a double foul in this situation?
Check out FED 4-36-1 and 4.19.8 SITUATION C.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
You are correct, it was a double foul. My fault. I reread the question. But the answer still went to POI, is that correct or should it be an AP situation with a double foul in this situation?
Check out FED 4-36-1 and 4.19.8 SITUATION C.
Thanks again Chuck. Got it now.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,446
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Texref
That was a question on our state (TX) exam this year and the answer is POI since the basket was made.
What does POI have to do with this situation? Maybe the question was about a double foul during a try? You might want to recheck that one, Texref.
Chuck,

You are correct, it was a double foul. My fault. I reread the question. But the answer still went to POI, is that correct or should it be an AP situation with a double foul in this situation?

Since the try was good, give the ball to B (or was it A? -- in any event the "old defensive team") for a throw in.

If the try was not good, then use the AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1