The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2006, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Additionally, in HS and NCAA, there is no pivot foot after a jump stop (or hop-stop or whatever we want to call it). A1 catches the ball, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands on two feet simultaneously. At that point, A1 may not pivot.

However, in the NBA, the "landing on two feet" is the second "count", and A1 is allowed to pivot.
It depends on the gather in both leagues whether you can pivot or not. If a player ends on the count of two in the NBA there is no pivot. If you end on the count of one you may pivot.

In college if you virtually gather the ball while in the air and land with both feet simultaneously you may pivot. If you gather it with one foot on the floor, and jump stop you may not pivot or land with a one-two count. Although I don't need to be telling you about the college rule, but I do know the NBA rule.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1