![]() |
I am clear that when a dribbler controls the ball with one foot on floor than jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet they cannot pivot. However, when a dribbler executes the jump stop but they get control of the ball after jumping off of one foot and then they land with a jump stop. They still can use a pivot foot right? If this is true it seems like it would be hard for an official to judge whether or not they had control with the foot on the floor or off the floor to determine if they get a pivot or not.
Thanks |
Your assessment of what's legal is correct. It's more unusual for a player to gather the ball after jumping. Usually, I see the dribble end as the player steps/jumps. He must then land simultaneously and not pivot. Evenso, I don't guess a travel. Better to miss one than call one that's not there.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If both feet are on the floor when the dribble ends, then the play is legal. If one foot is still on the floor, then the play is not legal. |
Yea judgement call, they are running along dribbling, so I would say 1 foot is on the floor when they pick up the dribble. jump and land on both feet then usually jump again or do an up and under move to shoot. It looks wrong some times and other times it looks really smooth.
I get a lot of flack when I call it travel, I have it as a travel every time. Not so with some of my partners. I make a point to discuss it pregame to be sure we are on same page. |
Quote:
Many officials should be forced to write this down and carry it in their pockets at all times! An error of ommission is better than an error of commission! |
Quote:
If you did understand me, then I guess our experiences are just different. |
Quote:
In other words, we miss the travel -- ok, not great, but usually not a huge deal -- and then the dribbler immediately gets fouled on the drive. Ugh. Talk about waking up the coach. Gotta get the ones that we gotta have. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Correct. In your play, once his feet land simultaneously, he can jump and release the ball but he cannot step.
|
Lately?
Quote:
|
"Lately" mean its becoming more and more prevalent in the games I work. Why the critical tone to the thread it was answered and all is fine. Thanks
|
This is ironic because we just discussed this at our last meeting, and I am still having difficulty seeing it.
I understand and am fine with the jump stop. No problem. Its when the dribble stops part that I am having trouble seeing. I have played and officiated for years, but still have difficulty visioning a player stoping his dribble AFTER the jump stop procedure starts. Any (more) help with this? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17pm. |