![]() |
|
|
|||
Hi friends,not sure of the proper procedures on a few situations.
I bounced the ball to the free thrower (now at his disposal),for two shots.(fouled on attempt,no basket). 1- does anybody HAVE TO stand in the spaces?The book says MAY. 2- B1 moves from outside arc to unoccupied space (while ball is at shooters disposal remember).violation right? What is the enforcement if the ball hasnt left the hand of shooter yet? 3 shots to make 2? 3- same thing as no2 but shooter is in 1 and 1 situation, give him 2? 4- what if a2 is the violator in the same situations. cant find situations like that in case book thank you |
|
|||
If a defender violates, you hold your whistle but signal with a closed fist to the side of the pending violation. If the shot goes in, it's nothing. If it misses, but not everything so as to cause a double violation, then another throw is awarded. If the offensive team violates, whistle it dead. If another throw is due, then that one is taken. Please don't use 3 to make 2 terminology. Reminds me of watching Wilt shoot FTs which was worse than watching Shaq.
And never put the ball at the disposal of the free thrower unless there are defenders occupying the closest 2 lane spaces. [Edited by 26 Year Gap on Dec 28th, 2005 at 10:31 PM]
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
#1. Yes, two opposing team members must occupy the first spaces unless the lane has been cleared. #2. Violation. (I assume from your post that Team A is shooting.) When you see the violation, signal it but hold your whistle. If the shot is made count it and ignore the violation. If not re-shoot it. Give the second shot. #3. If the first shot is made ignore the violation and give the second. If not, reshoot the first and let play resume as normal depending upon whether or not the first shot was good. #4. In a 1 & 1 wave off the first shot which cancels the second shot. Ball out of bounds to opponent OOB. If shooting two, take the second shot.
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
1: Rule 8.1.4.b says the first lane spaces must be occupied by the opponent of the thrower. This means the teammates of the thrower can't be there. Hadn't thought about nobody in the spaces, just isn't logical to not occupy the space though.
2: Rule 9.1 and the penalties have your answers for 2, 3, and 4. Use the delayed lane violation mechanic. If the free throw is missed, the shooter gets another attempt. If the shot is made, move on to the next shot or the throw in by B. 3: If there is a violation on the first of a 1 and 1, shooter does not automatically get 2 shots. Same procedure, shooter gets another attempt at 1st shot if missed. 4: Blow the whistle, lane violation on A2, no shot. Shoot second (or third if three shots) or team B gets ball for throw in if A was shooting 1 and 1. |
|
|||
FIRST AND FOREMOST, you never* bounce the ball to the shooter until both of the first spaces are filled by two defensive players. Those two spaces must be occupied by two member of Team B.
* The only exception is the resuming play procedure.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If the second or third space is unoccupied, the opponent may occupy it, as long as the numbering restrictions are correct.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
One related question.
Shooter has the ball for 1 & 1. Defender is in bottom space, offense in the next one, offense is also in the third spot. 2nd offender decides to leave the lane and go to half court. Defender at half court says, hey I'll take that spot. It was called a double violation and the guy shot it over. I was thinking it should have been dead as soon as the offense left. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I don't want to sound condescending, but am I missing something here? How can free throw violations be a problem? They're as straightforward as anything we do. It's kinda hard to mess these up, gang!
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
You also have to sometimes decide the exact timing of the violations, especially if they occur really close together. The rules do allow for simultaneous violations, but a split-second either way on which one occurred first could bring 2 more different rules into play- depending on the sequence. They just ain't that easy sometimes, Rev. |
|
|||
Re: References...
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|