The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 05:11pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
If someone would post or e-mail these two questions I would appreciate it. I don't have my exam with me and I just got the answers back.

Illinois threw out questions #77 and #95. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,967
Did you want those WITH or WITHOUT answers?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 05:22pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Did you want those WITH or WITHOUT answers?
I already have the answers, I just need the question. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 05:38pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
77. The official who makes the foul call must notify the
coach of a fifth and disqualifying foul.
95. Once the ball has been released by the thrower, opponents may break the throw-in boundary plane.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 05:40pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Not sure why these got thrown out. Thanks Ed!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Neither am I. Those are straight from the rule book.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 06:51pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
The only reason I can think of is that 77 is out of the Officials Manual and not a rule question. Number 95 might be worded a little off in that it doesn't say released on a throw-in pass.

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Dec 22nd, 2005 at 07:22 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Maeder
The only reason I can think of is that 77 is out of the Officials Manual and not a rule question. Number 95 might be worded a little off in that it doesn't say released on a through in pass.
Not true. This case play addresses this question.

2.8.4 SITUATION: Who informs the coach when a player is disqualified on fouls?

RULING: It is recommended that the non-calling official in a crew of two or the table side (trail or center) in a crew of three be responsible for notification. The scorer is to indicate to that official when a player has committed his/her fifth foul (personal and technical) or second technical foul. The official will immediately notify the coach, the timer and then the player of the disqualification. The player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified.

Therefore, the word "must" makes the statement false.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 07:16pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
I don't know what the not true is about. This is a mechanics question not a rules question. I answered the question and got it right. The test says rules examination not mechanics examination. There is a different test for mechanics and maybe they threw it out for that reason. This was just my thought. I realize that they put this question here because it is one of the changes this year but maybe they didn't feel it was a question that was supposed to be on a rules test. The Officials Manuel and the Case Book also contradict each other in that the Officials Manuel states that The non-calling official SHALL notify the coach and the case book says it is RECOMMENDED.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Maeder
The Officials Manuel and the Case Book also contradict each other in that the Officials Manuel states that The non-calling official SHALL notify the coach and the case book says it is RECOMMENDED.
Ed, #77 says,

The official who makes the foul call MUST notify the coach of a fifth and disqualifying foul.

The MUST makes the statement false. As you just stated, a non-calling CAN notify the coach. Understand?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 09:01pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
I understood from the begining. What are you getting all excited about? This is the only question on the test that does not have a rule book reference. The original question had to do with not knowing why these questions were thrown out and all I was doing was giving an example of why they maybe were. Take a pill.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Maeder
I understood from the begining. What are you getting all excited about? This is the only question on the test that does not have a rule book reference. The original question had to do with not knowing why these questions were thrown out and all I was doing was giving an example of why they maybe were. Take a pill.
So if someone disagrees with you, they're getting excited and they need a pill? WTF?

The fact that there is no rule that requires the calling official to notify to coach makes the statement false. There are plenty of questions on the exam that are similiar in nature.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Dec 23rd, 2005 at 11:13 AM]
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2005, 09:15pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Talking

I respect that you have been on this forum for a long time and I look at your posts all the time to learn from you and many others. I could care less if you or any other person disagrees with me. The original question had nothing to do with the answer to the question. It had to do with why the question was thrown out in Illinois. I have no argument that the question is False and never did. Happy Holidays

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Dec 22nd, 2005 at 09:29 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1