The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 11, 2005, 04:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Bench personnel entering without permission is an indirect on the coach.
Quite true, but this technical foul does not fall under the bench personnel group.
Here's why:

If this happened after a TO or intermission, then the kid is still one of the five players legally in the game and his returning is a team technical foul according to 10.1.9.
If a different kid comes onto the court, we have a substitute technical foul for either not reporting to the scorer or not being beckoned by an official.

Either way, the head coach does not receive an indirect T per the chart on page 73.

If this happened after another dead ball, then the precise call is less clear due to the change to 10-3-3. I would likely call the T under the new 10-3-3 or 10-3-7. I don't believe that I could justify a team technical here.
Therefore, this one is a player technical foul and the head coach still doesn't receive an indirect T per the chart.






Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1