![]() |
|
|||
Okay, I understand that if the official blows his whistle with .7 seconds to grant a timeout and the timer doesn't stop the clock than the game is over due to the one second lag time.
However if the official recognizes a player calling timeout with .7 seconds but either doesn't blow his whistle before the horn sounds or lets say he accidently drops his whistle. Can we still grant that timeout and put .7 seconds on the clock or is the game over? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
You may understand incorrectly.
If the official is looking at the clock when they blow their whistle and see .7, then time expires it is not a timing error. However, if the official blows their whistle and then looks at the clock and sees .7 and time expires, the interval between the whistle and look is interpreted as lag time and .7 is put back on the clock. Time can only be put back on for a timing error, so unless your timer is psychic, you can't put time back for an official's error. [Edited by blindzebra on Nov 29th, 2005 at 01:48 PM] |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
5.10.1
COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a lag in stopping the clock. By interpretation, lag or reaction time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the reaction time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock. The additional three seconds which subsequently ran off the clock is considered a timing mistake. If you have definite knowledge of the time at the whistle one second is allowed, i.e. the official is looking at the clock. If the official looks AFTER the whistle that look is considered the lag time, and time is corrected to definite knowledge. In your play .7. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
NUF SAID!!!!!! Lets close this thread.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|