The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lag Time but not really (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23382-lag-time-but-not-really.html)

cford Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:38pm

Okay, I understand that if the official blows his whistle with .7 seconds to grant a timeout and the timer doesn't stop the clock than the game is over due to the one second lag time.

However if the official recognizes a player calling timeout with .7 seconds but either doesn't blow his whistle before the horn sounds or lets say he accidently drops his whistle. Can we still grant that timeout and put .7 seconds on the clock or is the game over?

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cford
Okay, I understand that if the official blows his whistle with .7 seconds to grant a timeout and the timer doesn't stop the clock than the game is over due to the one second lag time.

However if the official recognizes a player calling timeout with .7 seconds but either doesn't blow his whistle before the horn sounds or lets say he accidently drops his whistle. Can we still grant that timeout and put .7 seconds on the clock or is the game over?

.7 can be put back on the clock, but nothing can be gained by this. Once the ball is inbounded and touched the clock will expire. Most will just let the game be over.

blindzebra Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:46pm

You may understand incorrectly.

If the official is looking at the clock when they blow their whistle and see .7, then time expires it is not a timing error.

However, if the official blows their whistle and then looks at the clock and sees .7 and time expires, the interval between the whistle and look is interpreted as lag time and .7 is put back on the clock.

Time can only be put back on for a timing error, so unless your timer is psychic, you can't put time back for an official's error.

[Edited by blindzebra on Nov 29th, 2005 at 01:48 PM]

ChuckElias Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
.7 can be put back on the clock, but nothing can be gained by this. Once the ball is inbounded and touched the clock will expire. Most will just let the game be over.
What?!?! Really?

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
.7 can be put back on the clock, but nothing can be gained by this. Once the ball is inbounded and touched the clock will expire. Most will just let the game be over.
What?!?! Really?

Seen it done, maybe not .7 but close enough.

cford Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by cford
Okay, I understand that if the official blows his whistle with .7 seconds to grant a timeout and the timer doesn't stop the clock than the game is over due to the one second lag time.

However if the official recognizes a player calling timeout with .7 seconds but either doesn't blow his whistle before the horn sounds or lets say he accidently drops his whistle. Can we still grant that timeout and put .7 seconds on the clock or is the game over?

.7 can be put back on the clock, but nothing can be gained by this. Once the ball is inbounded and touched the clock will expire. Most will just let the game be over.

What do you mean nothing can be gained by this? The player can catch and shoot and win the game!

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:53pm

Maybe that was the wrong choice of words!!!!! How about a slim chance?????

cford Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Maybe that was the wrong choice of words!!!!! How about a slim chance?????
So your going to tell the coach that you're not going to put time on the clock because there is a slim chance of his team scoring? Wow!

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cford
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Maybe that was the wrong choice of words!!!!! How about a slim chance?????
So your going to tell the coach that you're not going to put time on the clock because there is a slim chance of his team scoring? Wow!

No, I will put the time back on the clock if I have or my partner(s)have definate knowledge of the time.

cford Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
You may understand incorrectly.

If the official is looking at the clock when they blow their whistle and see .7, then time expires it is not a timing error.

However, if the official blows their whistle and then looks at the clock and sees .7 and time expires, the interval between the whistle and look is interpreted as lag time and .7 is put back on the clock.

Time can only be put back on for a timing error, so unless your timer is psychic, you can't put time back for an official's error.

[Edited by blindzebra on Nov 29th, 2005 at 01:48 PM]

I'm not sure that I understand your interpretation of this rule. Your correct in the first part because the timer is allowed one second lag time to stop the clock.

cford Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cford
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
You may understand incorrectly.

If the official is looking at the clock when they blow their whistle and see .7, then time expires it is not a timing error.

However, if the official blows their whistle and then looks at the clock and sees .7 and time expires, the interval between the whistle and look is interpreted as lag time and .7 is put back on the clock.

Time can only be put back on for a timing error, so unless your timer is psychic, you can't put time back for an official's error.

[Edited by blindzebra on Nov 29th, 2005 at 01:48 PM]

I'm not sure that I understand your interpretation of this rule. Your correct in the first part because the timer is allowed one second lag time to stop the clock.

What if there is .9 seconds when you blow your whistle and then look at the clock and it is at .6 and then the clock runs out. Are you saying that you put .6 seconds even though the time is less than 1 second?

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:06pm

We need precision time!!!!!!

blindzebra Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:13pm

5.10.1

COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a “lag” in stopping the clock. By interpretation, “lag or reaction” time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the “reaction” time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock. The additional three seconds which subsequently ran off the clock is considered a timing mistake.

If you have definite knowledge of the time at the whistle one second is allowed, i.e. the official is looking at the clock.

If the official looks AFTER the whistle that look is considered the lag time, and time is corrected to definite knowledge. In your play .7.;)

blindzebra Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cford
Quote:

Originally posted by cford
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
You may understand incorrectly.

If the official is looking at the clock when they blow their whistle and see .7, then time expires it is not a timing error.

However, if the official blows their whistle and then looks at the clock and sees .7 and time expires, the interval between the whistle and look is interpreted as lag time and .7 is put back on the clock.

Time can only be put back on for a timing error, so unless your timer is psychic, you can't put time back for an official's error.

[Edited by blindzebra on Nov 29th, 2005 at 01:48 PM]

I'm not sure that I understand your interpretation of this rule. Your correct in the first part because the timer is allowed one second lag time to stop the clock.

What if there is .9 seconds when you blow your whistle and then look at the clock and it is at .6 and then the clock runs out. Are you saying that you put .6 seconds even though the time is less than 1 second?

If you blow your whistle and then look, you put the time you saw back on, if the time runs out.

IREFU2 Tue Nov 29, 2005 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
5.10.1

COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a “lag” in stopping the clock. By interpretation, “lag or reaction” time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the “reaction” time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock. The additional three seconds which subsequently ran off the clock is considered a timing mistake.

If you have definite knowledge of the time at the whistle one second is allowed, i.e. the official is looking at the clock.

If the official looks AFTER the whistle that look is considered the lag time, and time is corrected to definite knowledge. In your play .7.;)


NUF SAID!!!!!! Lets close this thread.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1