![]() |
|
|||
Anybody ever see or make the call flagrant player control?
Tonight late in a girls game blowout A1 just obviously deliberately ran over B1, who was backpeddling directly in front of her. I considered the call, and was uncertain if there is such a thing. I compromised by telling her coach that her player could have been kicked out for that foul. She said nothing, but immediately removed the girl from the game. I see definitions here as contradictory, no free throws for player control, two free throws plus ball for flagrant, etc. So can a foul be both, or does one overrule the other?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I think that if you decide to call a flagrant foul, it does not matter whether the player has the ball or not. The same would be the case if you rule an intentional foul as well. You give two shots and the ball at the spot of the foul.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Yup, I've made the call a coupla times. The incidents always combined a player with the ball deliberately (imo) throwing an elbow into an opponent's face/head. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE] This is correct - applicable rules are 4.19.2 & 4.19.6 |
|
|||
Quote:
If a player/coach/fan/observer knows the rules of a flagrant or intentional foul and the proper foul is avoided, this could open up a whole new can of worms. In the end, we could very easily understand and agree on this, but those two sentences alone caused a "huh."
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Flagrant
JR...If you determine that this is flagrant, don't hesitate to call it. Use common sense though and be sure that it warrants a flagrant foul. If in HS I would use discreation towards the end of the season because the conference can consider a flagrant foul a suspendable act. Again if in your determination if she commit a flagrant foul, even with the ball, call it. THere is no excuse or room for flagrant fouls in Basketball.
|
|
|||
Re: Flagrant
Quote:
But don't call it if it's at the end of the season. Maybe. Gee, I can't begin to tell you how much I appreciate your advice. I never would have come up with any of those conclusions all by myself. I certainly never would have come up with the one about ignoring a flagrant foul at the end of a season because a player might be suspended. Lah me.... |
|
|||
Come on, JR. Relax. . . breathe. Lemme stick up for my Boston compadre. All Massref is saying is what we tell each other in the last minute of every game. If we have a foul, let's make sure it really fits the game and the situation; b/c if we make a mistake, there's no room for the team to compensate later in the game. Massref is just applying it to the end of the season, rather than the end of the game. If we have a flagrant foul, by all means, let's call it; but let's make sure it really is flagrant, b/c if we make a mistake, there's no room for the team to compensate later in the season.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
Telling anybody to use discretion when calling a flagrant foul just because a player might end up suspended just completely rubs me the wrong way too. To be quite honest, all that shows me is an official who is a little short in the sack department. A flagrant foul is a flagrant foul. |
|
|||
Quote:
The last thing I'm concerning myself with is how will coach A recover if I issue a flagrant to A1 near the end of the season. It's coach A's problem, maybe he should have coached his team to not engage in flagrant or near flagrant acts. I mean, he did have all season to get THAT message across, didn't he?
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
BTW, welcome Massref. Don't let us scare you off. We bark but we don't bite. Well, not very often. ![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|