The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 07:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to tjchamp
One of the questions on this years test dealt with this and brought up an interesting question (for me anyways).

1. Ball is established in front court. A1 passes to A2, but ball is deflected by b1 and ball goes to backcourt. Let's say the ball rolls all the way down to the baseline where a2 finally touches/gains controll of the ball. When does the 10 second count start? I'm thinking as soon as the ball touched the bc as team a still had team controll of the ball.

2. On the throw in after a made basket, when does the count begin? Is it when team a touches the ball? Or when team a gains control of the ball (ball is fumbled on throw in)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
One of the questions on this years test dealt with this and brought up an interesting question (for me anyways).

1. Ball is established in front court. A1 passes to A2, but ball is deflected by b1 and ball goes to backcourt. Let's say the ball rolls all the way down to the baseline where a2 finally touches/gains controll of the ball. When does the 10 second count start? I'm thinking as soon as the ball touched the bc as team a still had team controll of the ball.

2. On the throw in after a made basket, when does the count begin? Is it when team a touches the ball? Or when team a gains control of the ball (ball is fumbled on throw in)?
Fed rules:

1. The 10 second count begins as soon as the ball gains back court status. From 9.8 "A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."

2. The count does not begin until team control is established, which is not until player control is established, which is not until the player is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,611
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

That should answer both of your questions.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1