![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Here's another vocal signal I've encountered and hence used in, ahem, youth rec leagues. Many times a free thrower shoots and the ball never touches the ring. This I know to be a violation because, well it's just such an ugly play, that it has to be a violation. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	A rule citation would allow me to sleep at night. The closest I can find is 9-1-10. Also, in my reading of rules and cases I find several references to "ring OR backboard" touches.( RB 9-1-10, CB 9.1.9 Situation A) Does this mean that if a free thrower shoots and the ball touches the backboard and NOT the ring it is legal? Lastly, a purist would call the play: whistle, color, point, but at this level it seems that vocalizing "no rim" helps everyone understand the call. What to do?  | 
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |