The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "No rim" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23231-no-rim.html)

Cyber-Ref Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:08am

Here's another vocal signal I've encountered and hence used in, ahem, youth rec leagues. Many times a free thrower shoots and the ball never touches the ring. This I know to be a violation because, well it's just such an ugly play, that it has to be a violation.

A rule citation would allow me to sleep at night.

The closest I can find is 9-1-10.

Also, in my reading of rules and cases I find several references to "ring OR backboard" touches.( RB 9-1-10, CB 9.1.9 Situation A)

Does this mean that if a free thrower shoots and the ball touches the backboard and NOT the ring it is legal?

Lastly, a purist would call the play: whistle, color, point, but at this level it seems that vocalizing "no rim" helps everyone understand the call.

What to do?


SmokeEater Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:27am

"Whistle"
"Shooting Violation"
"Color & Point to location of throw in"
"Point direction"


Thats how I call it. It flows better in action then in words I think.

Smoke

ChuckElias Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
Also, in my reading of rules and cases I find several references to "ring OR backboard" touches.( RB 9-1-10, CB 9.1.9 Situation A)

Does this mean that if a free thrower shoots and the ball touches the backboard and NOT the ring it is legal?

It is, of course, a violation if the ball fails to touch the rim during a FT. The references to "rim or backboard" are to when the restrictions end for the players along the lane. They can enter the lane when the ball hits the backboard, even if it hasn't hit the rim yet.

Quote:

Lastly, a purist would call the play: whistle, color, point, but at this level it seems that vocalizing "no rim" helps everyone understand the call.

What to do?

I always vocalize "no rim". Probably not exactly right per the manual, but it makes clear exactly why I blew the whistle. If you don't say it, it could be just about any FT violation. Offensive player in the lane early, shooter steps over the line early, player standing on the 3-point line. Who will know what you called if you don't say it?

mdray Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:26am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
It is, of course, a violation if the ball fails to touch the rim during a FT. The references to "rim or backboard" are to when the restrictions end for the players along the lane. They can enter the lane when the ball hits the backboard, even if it hasn't hit the rim yet.



glad you reiterated that last point; yet, we occasionally hear officials incorrectly warn the players along the lane: "wait 'til it hits the rim"

Cyber-Ref Fri Nov 18, 2005 01:09pm

[QUOTE]It is, of course, a violation if the ball fails to touch the rim during a FT.

What is the explicit rules citation that supports this statement?

ChuckElias Fri Nov 18, 2005 01:13pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
Quote:

It is, of course, a violation if the ball fails to touch the rim during a FT.

What is the explicit rules citation that supports this statement?
NFHS 9-1-something-or-other.

ChuckElias Fri Nov 18, 2005 01:31pm

9-1-3, to be exact.

Cyber-Ref Fri Nov 18, 2005 01:36pm

Thanks Chuck, I don't know how I kept over-looking that one!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1