The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23113-travel.html)

IREFU2 Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
That's part of the rule, but not the complete rule. "Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe".
That 'unintentional contact' is bumping shoulders or something like that. Jumping onto someone else's back is not unintentional contact, IMHO.

My sentaments exacatly.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
That's part of the rule, but not the complete rule. "Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe".
That 'unintentional contact' is bumping shoulders or something like that. Jumping onto someone else's back is not unintentional contact, IMHO.


How do you know that A1 jumped on B1? Did you acquire some strange, mystical powers when we weren't looking? The original post simply stated that A1 was laying on B1. It didn't say how A1 got there. Have you considered that B1 may have jumped on A1 and A1 then rolled to get on top. There are myriad possibilities. Myriad, I say!

Now, is it traveling or not? That is the question. Dan_ref will be unable to sleep until he is enlightened.

IREFU2 Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
That's part of the rule, but not the complete rule. "Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe".
That 'unintentional contact' is bumping shoulders or something like that. Jumping onto someone else's back is not unintentional contact, IMHO.


How do you know that A1 jumped on B1? Did you acquire some strange, mystical powers when we weren't looking? The original post simply stated that A1 was laying on B1. It didn't say how A1 got there. Have you considered that B1 may have jumped on A1 and A1 then rolled to get on top. There are myriad possibilities. Myriad, I say!

Now, is it traveling or not? That is the question. Dan_ref will be unable to sleep until he is enlightened.

I answered it in my post on page 1.

assignmentmaker Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:56am

Think
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
That's part of the rule, but not the complete rule. "Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe".
That 'unintentional contact' is bumping shoulders or something like that. Jumping onto someone else's back is not unintentional contact, IMHO.


How do you know that A1 jumped on B1? Did you acquire some strange, mystical powers when we weren't looking? The original post simply stated that A1 was laying on B1. It didn't say how A1 got there. Have you considered that B1 may have jumped on A1 and A1 then rolled to get on top. There are myriad possibilities. Myriad, I say!

Now, is it traveling or not? That is the question. Dan_ref will be unable to sleep until he is enlightened.

"Have you considered that B1 may have jumped on A1 and A1 then rolled to get on top. There are myriad possibilities. Myriad, I say!"

Think Kama Sutra.

Dan_ref Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:06am


OK, some clarifications.

1. Scramble for the ball. A1 <s>laying</s> lying on B1, both on the floor. A1 secures the ball & rolls off B1.

2. No one fell on anyone else. Just a mass of wriggling bodies - some on the floor some bending over - all trying to secure the same ball, which was doing its best to be very uncooperative.

3. Somehow in this mess A1 ended up laying...errr....lying across B1 as he secured the ball. B1 had zero chance of getting the ball IMO regardless of A1's position.

4. A1 (who was on his back btw on top of B1, who was also on his back btw) intentionally rolls off B1 onto the floor.

Travel? Or not?

IREFU2 Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

OK, some clarifications.

1. Scramble for the ball. A1 <s>laying</s> lying on B1, both on the floor. A1 secures the ball & rolls off B1.

2. No one fell on anyone else. Just a mass of wriggling bodies - some on the floor some bending over - all trying to secure the same ball, which was doing its best to be very uncooperative.

3. Somehow in this mess A1 ended up laying...errr....lying across B1 as he secured the ball. B1 had zero chance of getting the ball IMO regardless of A1's position.

4. A1 (who was on his back btw on top of B1, who was also on his back btw) intentionally rolls off B1 onto the floor.

Travel? Or not?

Travel according to situation below -

If A1 rolls off of B1, and dosent attempt to pass the ball, its a travel.

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

rainmaker Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:07pm

Re: Think
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Think Kama Sutra.
I definitely will NOT think Kama Sutra on the basketball board.
I will not think Kama Sutra on thebasketball board.
I will not think Kama Sutra on the basketball board.
I will not think Kama Sutra on the basketball board.

rainmaker Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

OK, some clarifications.

1. Scramble for the ball. A1 <s>laying</s> lying on B1, both on the floor. A1 secures the ball & rolls off B1.

2. No one fell on anyone else. Just a mass of wriggling bodies - some on the floor some bending over - all trying to secure the same ball, which was doing its best to be very uncooperative.

3. Somehow in this mess A1 ended up laying...errr....lying across B1 as he secured the ball. B1 had zero chance of getting the ball IMO regardless of A1's position.

4. A1 (who was on his back btw on top of B1, who was also on his back btw) intentionally rolls off B1 onto the floor.

Travel? Or not?

Well, last year I had this very play up until the "getting the ball and rolling over" part. And it was in an evaluated game, and I got dinged for not calling a foul. In fact, it was missing that call that cost me a play-off game, I think. So around here, whether Jurassic agrees or not, the call is holding.

JCrow Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:22pm

I don't know if is a Travel or not? It sounds more like Pam Anderson's coffee break.






Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 10, 2005 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JCrow
I don't know if is a Travel or not? It sounds more like Pam Anderson's coffee break.



Not enough players involved.

Kelvin green Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:56am

I am going to chime in and say call a foul. Even given the sketchy information one player on top of another is clearly making contact and getting an advantage. You in theory could have a play where they both go for the ball and one ends up on top, and you might have incidental contact. But I would think 90 percent plus I would call a foul


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1