![]() |
Scramble for the ball. A1 laying on B1, both on the floor. A1 secures the ball & rolls off B1. Travel? Or not? |
Is this a trick question? A1 is on top of B1. Why is that not a foul?
|
Quote:
|
Heck, yeah, it's a travel. But there was probably a foul first.
|
Quote:
|
Why is this a foul on A1? Considerable contact is allowed on this play.
In addition, it is possible that this is the result of B1 tripping A1, or pulling the ball and the player to the floor. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Scramble for the ball. A1 laying on B1, both on the floor. A1 secures the ball & rolls off B1.
Travel? Or not? __________________ OK.....Ok.....first let's clean up the grammar. Kids read this Forum. We don't want little Johnny or Jane to get a rejection letter from Princeton because they read the Officials Forum. Instead of promising Medical Careers...they might end up as Refs? Don't mix up 'lie' and 'lay'. You lay something, as in they are going to lay the carpet, but you lie down on a bed or other flat surface. Sentences such as he is laying on the bed or why don't you lie it on the bed? are wrong: correct forms are he is lying on the bed and why don't you lay it on the bed? Back to the play. If B1 is lying on his or her back with both feet on the floor facing A1. I call that Legal Guarding Position. A1 secures control and gravity slams him/her down onto B1. It's basically a Gravitational Player Control Foul. Simple....no need to worry about all those overly complicated Traveling Rules. |
Quote:
No matter what, whether a foul occurred or didn't occur is completely irrelevant to the original question-- which is "is this a travel or not?". |
Quote:
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b) |
Quote:
And notice in my original reply, I didn't say this was definitely a foul. I said it was definitely a travel, but there was probably a foul first. Hard to land on somebody's back without there being a foul there somewhere. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now, is it traveling or not? That is the question. Dan_ref will be unable to sleep until he is enlightened. |
Quote:
|
Think
Quote:
Think Kama Sutra. |
OK, some clarifications. 1. Scramble for the ball. A1 <s>laying</s> lying on B1, both on the floor. A1 secures the ball & rolls off B1. 2. No one fell on anyone else. Just a mass of wriggling bodies - some on the floor some bending over - all trying to secure the same ball, which was doing its best to be very uncooperative. 3. Somehow in this mess A1 ended up laying...errr....lying across B1 as he secured the ball. B1 had zero chance of getting the ball IMO regardless of A1's position. 4. A1 (who was on his back btw on top of B1, who was also on his back btw) intentionally rolls off B1 onto the floor. Travel? Or not? |
Quote:
If A1 rolls off of B1, and dosent attempt to pass the ball, its a travel. 4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b) |
Re: Think
Quote:
I will not think Kama Sutra on thebasketball board. I will not think Kama Sutra on the basketball board. I will not think Kama Sutra on the basketball board. |
Quote:
|
I don't know if is a Travel or not? It sounds more like Pam Anderson's coffee break.
|
Quote:
|
I am going to chime in and say call a foul. Even given the sketchy information one player on top of another is clearly making contact and getting an advantage. You in theory could have a play where they both go for the ball and one ends up on top, and you might have incidental contact. But I would think 90 percent plus I would call a foul
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50pm. |