The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2005, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by South GA BBall Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
I believe that ultimately it is the calling officials call to make! Therefore, if I am not the calling official I tell my partner "Here is some information of what I saw. You can do with it what you want."
NFHS rules.

Your partner calls a 5 second closely guarded violation in the backcourt.

What do you do now??
"What did you have? There is no 5 second closely guarded in the back court. You can only have closely guarded in the front court. You should consider reversing this call and giving the team the ball back at POI."

--edited for punctuation and spelling--
I agree with the point made, but in the words of some textbook officials: Is that error correctable?
Textbook or not....Yes, it is correctable (not a correctable error though). The ball became dead with a team in control. It's becomes an inadvertant whistle. The team that had control gets the ball back for a throwin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1