![]() |
|
|||
Dave appears to be correct in this situation.
NFHS case book page 10, 2.10.1C "A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awareded a one-and-one. The error is discovered...(e) after B2 has control of the throw-in from B1 after A1's two successful freethrows. Ruling: In...(e), the successful free throw(s) are cancelled and play continues with a throw-in by B as B had the ball when the game was interrupted for correction." Granted, this case book play is not EXACTLY the same as the play in this thread, but by extrapolation, I believe Dave is giving us the correct answer. B had the ball at the time the error was discovered, so they should have the ball after the correction of the error. In the case, correcting the error DOES NOT INVOLVE giving the ball back to A, rather, it involves taking point(s) off the board that were incorrectely credited to A. I think this is what was confusing Hawks Coach...why should B get to shoot the free throws, if A is going to get the ball back. But according to Rule 2-10-6, A WOULD NOT GET the ball back, but play would be "resumed from the point at which it was interrupted to rectify the error." In this case, the interruption took place at the free throws. So B shoots the free throws and play resumes as normal after the missed or made throws. So, Hawks Coach you said you were looking for a rule book and/or case book ruling to cover this situation. Check rule 2-10-6 and case book 2.10.1C and let me know if that makes sense. thanks Dave for pointing that out. Jake |
Bookmarks |
|
|