The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2005, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
the key . . . the tricky part

Quote:
Originally posted by RefLarry
I'm stuck on #21 A1 receives the ball while straddling the division line.A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble while hits the division line.When A1 touches the ball after coming back up from the floor,the official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

I said NO because I did not think frontcourt status was established until player A had both feet and the ball touching in the frontcourt.I was looking at Rule 9-9 but I am not sure.
"A1 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt,then starts a dribble."

A1 is in the frontcourt, then, while dribbling (the logical truth of which is established after the ball contacts the backcourt) touches the backcourt. It's wired slightly backwards . . . but that's what happens when rules are created in isolation, not crosschecked for validity . . .

Vote for me. I will re-write the rules, maintaining their intent everywhere that intent can be established, and make them half as long and twice as clear.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1