The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal start of a dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22728-illegal-start-dribble.html)

ChuckElias Thu Oct 20, 2005 09:08am

Man, Grail, IREFU2, and Bob are all slow as molasses today. They posted the same basic answer I did a whole two minutes after me. :)

IREFU2 Thu Oct 20, 2005 09:22am

yes, very slow. It must be thrusday.

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 20, 2005 09:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Man, Grail, IREFU2, and Bob are all slow as molasses today. They posted the same basic answer I did a whole two minutes after me.
http://www.forumspile.com/Win-Cookie.jpg

Grail Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Man, Grail, IREFU2, and Bob are all slow as molasses today. They posted the same basic answer I did a whole two minutes after me. :)
Sorry, I hadn't had my morning caffeine yet.

SamIAm Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
#53. A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot and then throws the ball toward A-2.A-2 does not see the thrown ball. After the ball hits the floor,A-1 is the first to touch the ball.Official rules this is an illegal start of a dribble.Is the official correct?

Certainly seems like some kind of violation but "an illegal start of a dribble."? Same as double dribble in anybody's opinion? Wording seems tricky to me.

Presuming that A-1 has already used their dribble, this is an illegal start of a dribble. I was educated to this fact by NevadaRef during a discussion about the way to travel without the ball, there is only one.


It doesn't matter if A-1 used their dribble, you cannot start a dribble with your pivot foot of the florr.

I agree, it is a violation. But, what is the violation?
Are you gonna signal travelling on an illegal dribble, or illegal dribble on a traveling violation?

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
Quote:

Originally posted by RefLarry
#53. A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot and then throws the ball toward A-2.A-2 does not see the thrown ball. After the ball hits the floor,A-1 is the first to touch the ball.Official rules this is an illegal start of a dribble.Is the official correct?

Certainly seems like some kind of violation but "an illegal start of a dribble."? Same as double dribble in anybody's opinion? Wording seems tricky to me.

Presuming that A-1 has already used their dribble, this is an illegal start of a dribble. I was educated to this fact by NevadaRef during a discussion about the way to travel without the ball, there is only one.


It doesn't matter if A-1 used their dribble, you cannot start a dribble with your pivot foot of the florr.

I agree, it is a violation. But, what is the violation?
Are you gonna signal travelling on an illegal dribble, or illegal dribble on a traveling violation?

Traveling.

Rule 4-44-3(c) under the heading/section of <b>TRAVELING</b>.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1