![]() |
#53. A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot and then throws the ball toward A-2.A-2 does not see the thrown ball. After the ball hits the floor,A-1 is the first to touch the ball.Official rules this is an illegal start of a dribble.Is the official correct?
Certainly seems like some kind of violation but "an illegal start of a dribble."? Same as double dribble in anybody's opinion? Wording seems tricky to me. |
Since A1 lifted his/her pivot foot before starting the dribble, this is a travel.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
How, then/if, does this apply.
Same basic scenerio. A1 lifts foot and attempts a shot, but the shot falls short without ever hitting the rim/backboard and he/she gets their own rebound; perfectly legal. Why would you have "no viollation" in this scenerio and a "travel" when the attempted pass was fumbled in the given scenerio when both situations involve a player lifting their pivot foot initially without starting a dribble and ending up dribbling? |
My thoughts exactly.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Oh I see know, maybe its along the lines of a player cant dribble, fumble and dribble again???
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Man, Grail, IREFU2, and Bob are all slow as molasses today. They posted the same basic answer I did a whole two minutes after me. :)
|
yes, very slow. It must be thrusday.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Are you gonna signal travelling on an illegal dribble, or illegal dribble on a traveling violation? |
Quote:
Rule 4-44-3(c) under the heading/section of <b>TRAVELING</b>. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17pm. |