The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Circumstances, Fouls, & Penalties in High School Hoop (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22689-circumstances-fouls-penalties-high-school-hoop.html)

Camron Rust Tue Oct 18, 2005 07:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Why is a player technical listed as an indirect T? Some are but many are not.
What T on a PLAYER results in an indirect on the coach?

It is considered a player technical for a pregame/intermission dunk....10-3-5....which is an indirect on the coach.

The chart was attempting to say that but I did't understand that the note under the player technical box.

BktBallRef Tue Oct 18, 2005 08:12pm

Hey, where'd my post go!?!
 
Yes, that's correct. Very good! :)

However, even though the rule is under 10-3, the technical is charged to the TEAM MEMBER. Since the team member is considered bench personnel, the indirect goes to the coach. That's why the rule states, "This item applies to all team members," and the technical foul table says "Team Mamber."

I've alwys thought this rule should be listed under 10-4.

finnref Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:30pm

thanks for all your labor, assign. I like the chart. No question it looks complicated on first viewing but a few moments of reading reveals that it is very helpful for studying and reviewing the rules. If you give it a little study it will solidify your knowledge and quick selection of the correct penalty. thanks again.

assignmentmaker Wed Oct 19, 2005 01:09am

Re: Hey, where'd my post go!?!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Yes, that's correct. Very good! :)

However, even though the rule is under 10-3, the technical is charged to the TEAM MEMBER. Since the team member is considered bench personnel, the indirect goes to the coach. That's why the rule states, "This item applies to all team members," and the technical foul table says "Team Mamber."

I've alwys thought this rule should be listed under 10-4.

Thanks for the comment. Here's what I see:

Under 3-1, a 'team' is defined as consisting of 5 players.

And, in 4-34-1, "A player is one of 5 team members who are legally on the court at any given time."

4-34-2 says that "Bench personnel are all individuals who are part of or affiliated with a team, including, but not limited to: substitutes, coaches, manager(s), and statistician(s)."

10-3-4 says "This item [the prohibition against dunking or grasping during a dead ball period] applies to all team members".

In the light of these 4 references, I infer that either:

1) 'Team' really does mean the 5 players, and that the reason for 10-3-4 is to make it clear that it applies to a player without the ball as well as one with it; or

2) 'Team' in 10-3-4 is being used in a non-rules-based, common language way, as in 'everybody on the team' - including little Freddy Benchwarmer, who, unable to control himself again, dunks the ball during a time-out.

I think you could treat little Freddy's moment-in-the-sun as a Bench Technical under 10-4-1, committing an unsporting foul, which "includes, but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as . . ." 10-4-1.f, "inciting undesirable crowd reactions"? And indirect one to the coach that way.

In which case 'team' members as referenced in 10-3-4 really are the 5 players as defined in the rules.

I'm gonna stick with what I have for the moment, though you have me worried!




assignmentmaker Wed Oct 19, 2005 01:35am

I'm glad some folks are finding this idea helpful
 
I'm glad some folks are finding this idea helpful.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1