![]() |
|
|||
Need some help folks....
Here's the situation... Double bonus free throw...administering official tells the players it's a 1-and-1 free throw...girl shoots the first free throw, and misses. Ball is rebounded by opposing team...7 seconds run off clock before I blow the play dead from this mistake. We put the shooter back on the line for her second (merited) free throw... Here's the question.... Do we also put the 7 seconds back on the clock? Todd DeYoung Zeeland, MI |
|
|||
rule 2-10-5
says points scored, TIME CONSUMED, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, SHALL NOT BE NULLIFIED!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
what does that mean....SHALL NOT BE NULLIFIED??????
Should we have put the 7 seconds back on the clock, or no? NULLIFIED>>>>>be brought to nothing...to make of no value or consequence. So this means, shall not be made of no value....put the 7 sec. back on....right? |
|
|||
not having my rule book handy-- Under HS rules--- it seems to me under correctable error section, any action or time consumed before the error is noticed--- shall not be nullified..
So... Even thought the official has definate knowledge regarding the time on the clock--- this would NOT allow the official to add time back on the clock So Possession has changed Clear the line---- shoot 1 shot B 1 gets the ball back at the point of the interruption Stew in VA |
|
|||
correct stew
nullified means no time put back on clock!!! pg 20 rule 2-1005
and correct on procedure, possession changed so clear line for 1 shot and B gets ball back afterwords at pt. of interruption!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE! |
|
|||
Correctable errors are just that correctable but not a redo. You correct the shot but the game has progressed and we dont change it. Think of it this way. You had the same situation but ball went one way, was stolen... took a shot missed, team went down missed another shot, and a minute or two ran off the clock, then you realize a second shot should have been taken...
This still meets the defitintiion because there have been no dead balls that have become live... Would you ignore all of that play and replay two minutes? Just fix the mistake and resume. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|