The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2001, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NF Interpretation

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
I saw this yesterday during a 16U AAU tourney.
A1 goes up to dunk, ball bounces straight up off rim,
but not too high. As the ball comes down & through
the basket A1 is still in contact with the rim.
Less than a second for the entire play. BI or not?
No, it's not. If the player carried the ball into the basket cylinder, 9-11 Exception allows him to touch the ball or goal without penalty. If he loses control of the ball prior to the ball entering the imaginary cylinder, and then grabbed the rim or touched the ball, it would be BI.

9.11.2b describes a similiar play and states, "The rules do allow a player to carry the ball into the cylinder above the ring or place the ball into the basket itself. It is basket interference; however, when a player touches the ball or the basket when the ball is in or on the basket, or touches the ball while any portion of the ball is touching the cylinder directly above the basket and the player did not carry the ball into the cylinder or basket."
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1