Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
I saw this yesterday during a 16U AAU tourney.
A1 goes up to dunk, ball bounces straight up off rim,
but not too high. As the ball comes down & through
the basket A1 is still in contact with the rim.
Less than a second for the entire play. BI or not?
|
No, it's not. If the player carried the ball into the basket cylinder, 9-11 Exception allows him to touch the ball or goal without penalty. If he loses control of the ball prior to the ball entering the imaginary cylinder, and then grabbed the rim or touched the ball, it would be BI.
9.11.2b describes a similiar play and states, "The rules do allow a player to carry the ball into the cylinder above the ring or place the ball into the basket itself. It is basket interference; however, when a player touches the ball or the basket when the ball is in or on the basket, or touches the ball while any portion of the ball is touching the cylinder directly above the basket and
the player did not carry the ball into the cylinder or basket."