The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 28, 2001, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
What rules apply to rolling the ball down the floor? I'm talking about never having picked up the ball. I saw this done by a gal who ran after a loose ball. By the time she got to it, it was rolling. She never picked it up, just "herded" it down the floor. It sounds like it wouldn't be good play, but she was short and scooted in between several defenders, bot the ball to the post, who got the basket. I wasn't working, but asked the guy that was , and he said, since she never began a dribble, it wasn't travelling or double dribble, and that it broke no rules. I've been looking through the book and can't find anything applicable either for or against. What do you experts have to offer?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 28, 2001, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
The closest Casebook play I found was 4.43.5B, which refers to a player who is sliding along the ground with momentum..

This is definately a case for 2-3, in my opinion. It was a basketball game - not a soccer or field hockey match. By not having to dribble, the player was able to pick up a large advantage - both in terms of movement and surprise factor.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 28, 2001, 11:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This is definately a case for 2-3, in my opinion.
How is this any different from a tall player who taps the ball into the air 5 or 6 times to prevent an opponent from getting it but never holds it? The answer - It isn't any different and neither play is illegal. Dennis Rodman made a living doing this for several years.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2001, 01:36am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

I don't think you are going to find a rule that governs this in NF. However, you could be very creative and call this a travel if you wanted. Here's how. The definition of a pass allows you to roll the ball to a teammate. Rolling the ball to yourself, which is what happens if she pushes it, then runs after it and touches it, could be considered "passing to yourself", which most officials feel is a travel under a very broad interpretation of the travel rule.

OK, OK, I said you would have to be very creative to call this a travel.

Also - remember that there would be no player control during this, but there could very well be team control depending on the status of the ball before it became "loose" and how it became "loose".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2001, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,243
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This is definately a case for 2-3, in my opinion.
How is this any different from a tall player who taps the ball into the air 5 or 6 times to prevent an opponent from getting it but never holds it? The answer - It isn't any different and neither play is illegal. Dennis Rodman made a living doing this for several years.
Wasn't this discussed on McGriff's a couple of years ago? Didn't someone get a ruling from someone on the NFHS rules committee (I thought it was you, Tony asking Dick KNox)?

I seem to remember that this movement was considered "dribbling" -- so as long as it didnt' violate any of the dribbling rules, the move was legal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2001, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
I don't remember this one Bob, but we may have talked about it on McGriff. My memory isn't what it used to be!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2001, 07:57am
Suppref
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Could be double dribble?

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
What rules apply to rolling the ball down the floor? I'm talking about never having picked up the ball. I saw this done by a gal who ran after a loose ball. By the time she got to it, it was rolling. She never picked it up, just "herded" it down the floor. It sounds like it wouldn't be good play, but she was short and scooted in between several defenders, bot the ball to the post, who got the basket. I wasn't working, but asked the guy that was , and he said, since she never began a dribble, it wasn't travelling or double dribble, and that it broke no rules. I've been looking through the book and can't find anything applicable either for or against. What do you experts have to offer?
I would have to see it but.. after she tapped the ball the second or third time, I would say she gained countrol with a dribble and call the DD. Just as if it was passed to her and she controlled the wayward pass with a dribble, picked it up , then dribbled again. Like the rest of the posts it's kind of a stretch, but instinct can tell us when something doesn't look right!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2001, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 385
Smile

I am trying to picture this, I would think this would be a pass to yourself. On the other hand, I think it would be poor defense if they allow the person to push the ball all the way to the post and make a basket.

AK ref SE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2001, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Re: Could be double dribble?

Quote:
Originally posted by Suppref

I would have to see it but.. after she tapped the ball the second or third time, I would say she gained countrol with a dribble and call the DD. Just as if it was passed to her and she controlled the wayward pass with a dribble, picked it up , then dribbled again. Like the rest of the posts it's kind of a stretch, but instinct can tell us when something doesn't look right!
If it is a dribble, where do you get a double dribble, unless the tap is two handed? I could see a double dribble call if the player repeatedly taps the ball with two hands.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2001, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 385
I think this is a loose ball situation, No control has been established. So..... Do you start a 10 second count in the backcourt? or would this be another Thread?

AK ref SE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1