The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How should this situation be handled? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22420-how-should-situation-handled.html)

SeanFitzRef Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:14am

A1 driving to basket, A5 sets a screen at the elbow, then dives down to the rim. B5 follows A5, and as A1 goes up to shoot, B5 pushes A5 in the back. A1 makes the layup. How do you administer form there?

Had this situation in a game last night, I will post how we handled it later.

jr Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:34am

fed and ncaa rules...good basket, ball oob if not in bonus...1+1 or 2 shots if in bonus...

nba...good basket, a5 shoots 1...

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
A1 driving to basket, A5 sets a screen at the elbow, then dives down to the rim. B5 follows A5, and as A1 goes up to shoot, B5 pushes A5 in the back. A1 makes the layup. How do you administer form there?

Had this situation in a game last night, I will post how we handled it later.

Count the basket by A1. Charge B5 with a personal foul. If team A is not in the bonus, they get a throw-in at the closest spot to where the foul occurred. If team A is in the bonus, A5 will get 1/1 or 2 ft's, depending on how many fouls team B has.

Rule 6-7EXCEPTION(c) and casebook play 6.7SitD are the rules references.

mick Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
A1 driving to basket, A5 sets a screen at the elbow, then dives down to the rim. B5 follows A5, and as A1 goes up to shoot, B5 pushes A5 in the back. A1 makes the layup. How do you administer form there?

Had this situation in a game last night, I will post how we handled it later.

SeanFitzRef,
Did you adjudge the foul to be intentional, flagrant or common?
That will control the subsequent administration.
mick

SeanFitzRef Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:47am

I called it as a common foul. Put A5 on the line for one shot (fubar'd it bad). Didn't get a chance to check the rule book (HAHAHA) until later in the evening. I originally had it correct to put the ball in play OOB, but changed it and still can't figure out why.

mick Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
I called it as a common foul. Put A5 on the line for one shot (fubar'd it bad). Didn't get a chance to check the rule book (HAHAHA) until later in the evening. I originally had it correct to put the ball in play OOB, but changed it and still can't figure out why.
SeanFitzRef,
Well, ... you own that rule now, dontcha? :)
mick

ChuckElias Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
I called it as a common foul. Put A5 on the line for one shot
Got it right. . . if it were an NBA game.

SeanFitzRef Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
SeanFitzRef,
Well, ... you own that rule now, dontcha? :)
mick

Yup!!! :rolleyes:

Back In The Saddle Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
SeanFitzRef,
Well, ... you own that rule now, dontcha? :)
mick

Yup!!! :rolleyes:

If you can keep the price down to just one screw-up per owned rule, you'll go far :D

Rizzo21 Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:16pm

My own gaffe
 
As some of you know, this is my first year and things are going ALMOST smoothly so far in girl’s b-ball (this is Michigan). I have freshman and JV games. Most of the games have gone well but two weeks ago I had a JV game that was down to the wire. Rivalry game, big crowd and the home coach was not happy with several of our calls. Under one minute to go, both teams in double bonus, home team takes ball out after a made free throw. Player A2 sets a screen for dribbler A1 in the backcourt and gives the old shove on B1. I call illegal screen and put B1 on the line. She misses the first and home coach is screaming at us to come over. I do and she (actually pretty calmly) asks me doesn’t the “team control” new rule apply. My heart sinks and I go to confer with my veteran partner (who didn’t catch it either). Needless to say, I put my tail between my legs, we took the girls off the line and gave the ball OOB to team B. That one stung for a couple days.

My head knew the rule all season but once the heat was turned up, I just plain dropped it. Hopefully it's a lesson learned to be more deliberate and slow down in these tight spots.

JRutledge Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:21pm

Rizzo21,

When did the contact take place? It would not be a team control foul if the throw in was still in progress. It is not clear to me when the illegal screen took place.

Peace


mick Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Rizzo21,

When did the contact take place? It would not be a team control foul if the throw in was still in progress. It is not clear to me when the illegal screen took place.

Peace


Rut,
There was one dribbler dribbling ... and a partridge in a pear tree.
mick

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Rizzo21,

When did the contact take place? It would not be a team control foul if the throw in was still in progress. It is not clear to me when the illegal screen took place.

Peace


Based on the fact that the screen was set for <b>dribbler</b> A1, it sounds like it must have been after the throw-in had ended.

rainmaker Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Rizzo21,

When did the contact take place? It would not be a team control foul if the throw in was still in progress. It is not clear to me when the illegal screen took place.

Peace


Rut,
There was one dribbler dribbling ... and a partridge in a pear tree.
mick

Sheez, Rizzo didn't say anything about a partridge in a pear tree. Doesn't that change everything?

M&M Guy Tue Oct 04, 2005 08:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Rizzo21,

When did the contact take place? It would not be a team control foul if the throw in was still in progress. It is not clear to me when the illegal screen took place.

Peace


Rut,
There was one dribbler dribbling ... and a partridge in a pear tree.
mick

Sheez, Rizzo didn't say anything about a partridge in a pear tree. Doesn't that change everything?

Especially if you're under the tree...

(Have you ever been around birds after they eat fruit?)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1