![]() |
A1 driving to basket, A5 sets a screen at the elbow, then dives down to the rim. B5 follows A5, and as A1 goes up to shoot, B5 pushes A5 in the back. A1 makes the layup. How do you administer form there?
Had this situation in a game last night, I will post how we handled it later. |
fed and ncaa rules...good basket, ball oob if not in bonus...1+1 or 2 shots if in bonus...
nba...good basket, a5 shoots 1... |
Quote:
Rule 6-7EXCEPTION(c) and casebook play 6.7SitD are the rules references. |
Quote:
Did you adjudge the foul to be intentional, flagrant or common? That will control the subsequent administration. mick |
I called it as a common foul. Put A5 on the line for one shot (fubar'd it bad). Didn't get a chance to check the rule book (HAHAHA) until later in the evening. I originally had it correct to put the ball in play OOB, but changed it and still can't figure out why.
|
Quote:
Well, ... you own that rule now, dontcha? :) mick |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
My own gaffe
As some of you know, this is my first year and things are going ALMOST smoothly so far in girls b-ball (this is Michigan). I have freshman and JV games. Most of the games have gone well but two weeks ago I had a JV game that was down to the wire. Rivalry game, big crowd and the home coach was not happy with several of our calls. Under one minute to go, both teams in double bonus, home team takes ball out after a made free throw. Player A2 sets a screen for dribbler A1 in the backcourt and gives the old shove on B1. I call illegal screen and put B1 on the line. She misses the first and home coach is screaming at us to come over. I do and she (actually pretty calmly) asks me doesnt the team control new rule apply. My heart sinks and I go to confer with my veteran partner (who didnt catch it either). Needless to say, I put my tail between my legs, we took the girls off the line and gave the ball OOB to team B. That one stung for a couple days.
My head knew the rule all season but once the heat was turned up, I just plain dropped it. Hopefully it's a lesson learned to be more deliberate and slow down in these tight spots. |
Rizzo21,
When did the contact take place? It would not be a team control foul if the throw in was still in progress. It is not clear to me when the illegal screen took place. Peace |
Quote:
There was one dribbler dribbling ... and a partridge in a pear tree. mick |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
(Have you ever been around birds after they eat fruit?) |
I missed that.
I am sorry. I did not read the word "dribbler." That is what happens when you are reading and watching something at the same time.
Peace |
Intentional
Quote:
Mregor |
Re: Intentional
Quote:
A push from behind to get a rebound could be just a push, eh? :) mick |
Re: Re: Intentional
Quote:
as A1 goes up to shoot, B5 pushes A5 in the back. [/QUOTE} Doesn't sound like going for a rebound to me. Sounds like the defensive player got.....Oops, just got it. A1 is the shooter, A5 was the one who set the screen. See, I did miss something. :D Mregor |
Could be a push, could be intentional, could be flagrant. I'd have to see the play. If it was simply jostling for rebond position it would just be a push. If B pushed A5 into A1 or pushed him/her forcibly out of the way, could be intentional. Another possibility is if A5 was pushed into A1, could be flagrant on B. The penalty depends on how you see and judge the play.
|
It was just a push in the back going for a rebound. No flagrant or intentional.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm. |