The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?
If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.
Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.

How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. If technical, it involves dead-ball contact or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.

It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.


See the words outlined in red in your rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be dead ball contact.


You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.
I know what that rules states, I can read, what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant. Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
The flagrant/non-flagrant point doesn't have anything to do with JR's comments. JR is trying to point out to you that if there is contact during a live ball, it's can't be a technical foul; it's a personal foul.

It can still be a flagrant personal foul. But it's personal, not technical.

Live ball contact = personal foul.
Dead ball contact or non-contact foul = technical foul.

That's all that JR is trying to say.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?
If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.
Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.

How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. If technical, it involves dead-ball contact or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.

dIt could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.


See the words outlined in red in your rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be dead ball contact.


You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.
I know what that rules states, I can read, what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant. Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
No, you were saying that it could be a flagrant technical foul. It can't be a technical, by rule. If there's live-ball contact, you can't call a technical foul. It has to be a personal foul of some type.

If a player swings an elbow during a live ball and misses, it's a violation. If a player swings an elbow and contacts an opponent during a live ball, then it's a personal foul of some type- your choice.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
The flagrant/non-flagrant point doesn't have anything to do with JR's comments. JR is trying to point out to you that if there is contact during a live ball, it's can't be a technical foul; it's a personal foul.

It can still be a flagrant personal foul. But it's personal, not technical.

Live ball contact = personal foul.
Dead ball contact or non-contact foul = technical foul.

That's all that JR is trying to say.
Thanks for the clarification on this matter.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:51am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.
The flagrant/non-flagrant point doesn't have anything to do with JR's comments. JR is trying to point out to you that if there is contact during a live ball, it's can't be a technical foul; it's a personal foul.

It can still be a flagrant personal foul. But it's personal, not technical.

Live ball contact = personal foul.
Dead ball contact or non-contact foul = technical foul.

That's all that JR is trying to say.
It's true, it's true....
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant.
Agreed. But that has nothing to do with JR's point. See my post directly above this one.

Quote:
Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
Agreed again! So toss the kid. But you're missing something. Your choices aren't limited to T or violation. See my first post in this thread.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
what I am saying is that it could be deemed as flagrant.
Agreed. But that has nothing to do with JR's point. See my post directly above this one.

Quote:
Lets say that the swinging of the elbow broke the nose of the player and you just call a violation, the coach would go bullistic.
Agreed again! So toss the kid. But you're missing something. Your choices aren't limited to T or violation. See my first post in this thread.
Thanks for the clarification again!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Thanks for the clarification again!
I think I over-clarified!! But the posts came so closely together, that I didn't realize you'd already responded to my first one. Sorry!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Re: Re: Thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Thanks for the clarification again!
I think I over-clarified!! But the posts came so closely together, that I didn't realize you'd already responded to my first one. Sorry!
No problem, we are all here to help "clarify" each others post. The thing is to get the call right!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Jurassic is correct

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?
If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.
Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.

How about Section 19-4
ART. 4 . . . A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as: striking, kicking and kneeing. If technical, it involves dead-ball contact or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.

It could be deemed flagrant. Once again it would be a judgement called whether to call a "t" or violation. I guess you would have to be in the situation.


See the words outlined in red in your rules citation. Note that the rule says that if the foul is a technical, it must be dead ball contact.


You just cited a rule that completely contradicts what you're trying to assert.

Rule 4-19-5(c) sez a technical foul is an intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead. If the contact occurs during a live ball, it must be a personal foul as per R4-19-1.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 29th, 2005 at 09:42 AM]
Ever try to flowchart this stuff? It can be done. It's way less ponderous than reading of a list of definitions, trying to find a match.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Jurassic is correct

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Ever try to flowchart this stuff?
What stuff? The posts and replies?

If you're talking about flow-charting the options for whether to call a violation or foul, why bother? I gave you the 3 options in my first post.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Re: Re: Jurassic is correct

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Ever try to flowchart this stuff?
What stuff? The posts and replies?

If you're talking about flow-charting the options for whether to call a violation or foul, why bother? I gave you the 3 options in my first post.
I gues flow charting Section 19, I may try that.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggone it, I can't find the reference I want. Perhaps it's in a past year's rule book. If so, can I please call on MTD to brave his attic and find me the cite I want?

I was doing a game on Saturday (VG) and a girl threw an elbow and made contact. I suspect she was trying to make contact, but I didn't push it. I T'd her, though. I was thinking that the rule change a year or two ago was mostly for non-contact elbows, and that we could still call a T if there was contact. Was I mis-remembering?
If it was an intentional swing of the elbow with contact, then I would have "t" her also. I dont think you could go wrong in this type of situation, unless you call nothing.
Sigh.

Do you have a rules reference that will allow you to call a technical foul for a live-ball contact foul?

By rule, for live ball contact fouls, you can call either a team control foul, an intentional personal foul or a flagrant personal foul.

NFHS rules 4-19-1 and 4-19-5 are the references.
I have a reference (numbers may be off...from 03-04 book):

4-18 FIGHTING
Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur when the ball is dead or live. Fighting includes, but is not limited to combative acts such as:
ART. 1 . . . An attempt to strike, punch or kick an opponent with a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made.

with

10-3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART. 10 . . . Be charged with fighting.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
A couple of experiences:

I had this happen in a collge game last year. The two players going for the rebound had been working hard against each other for the first several minutes of the second half. Nothing outside the lines, just bigs being bigs. Anyway, the defensive player gets the rebound, looks back and, in my opinion, measures the other player and swings an elbow that connects with the players throat. The player is taken off their feet by the contact. TWEET! I had my choice (intentional/flagrant). My call was flagrant based on the entire result of the act. No one even thought twice about it.

In another game, before the change in penalties included a violation, a player was being tightly defended when the offense made contact, nothing severe, but surely a call (PC)needed to be made to reinforce that swinging elbows is not something that will continue. Again, no one took issue with the call and the rest of the game went off without difficulty.

Not all situations are exactly the same, but having seen the plays in their entirety certainly makes all the difference in the call that you make.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2005, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
4-18 FIGHTING
Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur when the ball is dead or live.

10-3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART. 10 . . . Be charged with fighting.
We've had this discussion before, Camron. I was totally on your side on this. But I seem to remember that there was an argument on the other side that fighting could also be personal, instead of technical. Since that discussion, I've always considered live-ball fighting to be a personal foul; but now I can't remember exactly why. . .
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1