The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul Shots (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/221-foul-shots.html)

Bradley Batt Thu Dec 23, 1999 04:42am

I absolutely agree with you Dennis.

Sometimes the foul must be called. This is why "finding the ball" is important - it will help you decide whether or not you want to make the call. If the contact is not as significant as an elbow to the head you might decide to pass on it.

Later,
Brad

JoeT Thu Dec 23, 1999 04:39pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Richard Kreimer on 12-22-1999 10:53 PM
"No shot" or "on the floor", are calls made by officials that do not know the application of continious motion .
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

...hmm...

I've definitely waved off baskets when the shooter clearly began his shot routine after the foul or continued to dribble and score after the whistle. (I may have even said "no shot....")

There are situations where the ball goes through the hoop, but it's not continuous motion, right?


Richard Kreimer Thu Dec 23, 1999 06:30pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JoeT on 12-23-1999 03:39 PM
...hmm...

I've definitely waved off baskets when the shooter clearly began his shot routine after the foul or continued to dribble and score after the whistle. (I may have even said "no shot....")
If the shooter begins his shot routine, the continuos motion applies.
Dave Libbey in a camp told us this is one of the most non calls in the game.
Obviously, based on your comment, he is right. (B)

There are situations where the ball goes through the hoop, but it's not continuous motion, right?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Richard Kreimer Thu Dec 23, 1999 06:31pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JoeT on 12-23-1999 03:39 PM
...hmm...

I've definitely waved off baskets when the shooter clearly began his shot routine after the foul or continued to dribble and score after the whistle. (I may have even said "no shot....")

There are situations where the ball goes through the hoop, but it's not continuous motion, right?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If the shooter begins his shot routine, the continuos motion applies.
Dave Libbey in a camp told us this is one of the most non calls in the game.
Obviously, based on your comment, he is right. (B)


JoeT Thu Dec 23, 1999 11:14pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Richard Kreimer on 12-23-1999 05:31 PM
If the shooter begins his shot routine, the continuos motion applies.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Does this hold true if he begins his shot routine after the whistle/call?


Richard Kreimer Thu Dec 23, 1999 11:36pm

[quote]Originally posted by JoeT on 12-23-1999 10:14 PM
Does this hold true if he begins his shot routine after the whistle/call?

Once you blow the whistle, the ball is dead. therefore no continuous motion, but if he starts his motion, and then you put air in the whistle, why penalize him, give him the continuous motion http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/smile.gif.

Dennis Flannery Fri Dec 31, 1999 08:31pm

I saw that someone else mentioned Dave Libbey... at one of his camp I made a call and awarded the player 2 shots. What happened was as A1 was about to jump in the air for the shot on the block, B1 jumped up and landed on him. After the game Dave asked me why I gave him 2 shots, I said that he had started his motion to shoot the ball and so he gets 2 shots. At first I thought I was wrong for doing this by the way Dave was talking to me, but then he turned to everyone else at the camp, and said that I made the right call. Just thought I would pass it on.

David Wenger Sat Jan 01, 2000 10:47pm

While I agree with you Brad that the non calling official should find the ball I think
we are being inconsistent of we do not make the push call on the box out whether the ball goes in or not. If its a foul when the
ball does not go in it has to be a foul if it does go in to. It is no wonder players get
frustrated with officials if its a foul on time and not the next. Not to mention when ever I make that call early I seem to have a much nicer game the rest of the night.

pollard Thu Jan 06, 2000 12:47pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Ron Pilo on 12-22-1999 09:51 AM
Game last night A1 goes up for 3. While ball is in flight my partner (L) calls off ball foul on B1 under the basket. Ball goes in for three. We are in the bonus (8). How many shots are we taking?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1