The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   what's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21762-whats-call.html)

Camron Rust Wed Aug 17, 2005 03:52pm

I'm suprised at the discussion on this.

I thought it was pretty obvious.

An airborne shooter is an airborne shooter until they land. Period. If they get fouled before they land, the get 2 FTs (unless the shot is made).

While it is extremely unlikely to occur, there is no rule that says you can't have two airborne shooters at the same time.

Neither the firist try ending nor the 2nd try beginning changes the airborne shooter status of the first shooter.

Theoretically, you could have two (or more) independant shooting fouls occuring before the ball becomes dead.

In practice, I doubt it would ever happen since there is such a small time frame in which several events must occur in order for it to even be possible.

Even if it did, you could make the point that the 2nd contact was of no advantage since the ball was going to become dead due to the first foul.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Aug 18th, 2005 at 02:06 AM]

Mark Dexter Wed Aug 17, 2005 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
The rule support you find is in 4-40-4 "The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead."

The only legal touch of a try I can think of is when the try by A1 is on its upward arc (not sure why A2 would block a try by A1). This type of a touch I would consider a pass from A1 to A2, with A2 receiving credit should the ball go in the basket.

All other types of touches by A2 are after the try by A1 has ended or they end the try of A1.

A tap of a try by A1 on its downward arc by A2 that was going into the basket would be GT (9-12). If the ball was not going to go in, A1's try has ended and the touch by A2 is legal.

If the try by A1 did not go in immediately but is on the rim or any part of the ball is within the cylinder above the rim and A2 taps the ball, that is BI (9-11). So for A2 to legally touch the ball, it must be outside the cylinder after the missed shot by A1 - in other words the try by A1 has ended.

Either way the try by A1 ends with the touch of A2. If it was a legal touch by A2, then A2 gets credited with the made basket, not A1, as his try ended.


I can accept the theory that the try ends, due to being apparently unsuccessful, when touched by A2.

But still, A1 is an airborne shooter until he touches the ground. I think I'm going to stop making myself (and everyone else) dizzy, apologize to the board, and stop here.

BiG_UNiT_32 Fri Aug 26, 2005 01:42pm

*i think it should be a regular foul because he wasnt shooting the ball when he was fouled and right when the ball hits the basket...its considered dead.*

Jurassic Referee Fri Aug 26, 2005 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BiG_UNiT_32
*i think it should be a regular foul because he wasnt shooting the ball when he was fouled and right <font color = red>when the ball hits the basket...its considered dead.</font>*
It is? :confused: Rules citation, please.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1