The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2005, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Re: how can you have a double foul here

Quote:
Originally posted by deecee
If you have a blocking foul on the defense HOW can you have a simultaneous charge???

If the offensive player commited a charge then how can you have a blocking foul since the defender HAD LEGAL guarding position (which is why it was a foul)??
Philosophically, I absolutely agree with you. You should never have this situation happen, if both you and your partner use the proper mechanics.

Ok, here's the play: team A is down 2 with 5 sec. left. They have the arrow. A1 drives the lane, and there's a big collision. You signal charge, your partner signals block. You each look up and go, "oh, sh!t". You get together, figure out it was in your primary, and you go take the call. Charge on A1, B gets the ball OOB. Sounds like the right thing to do. Buuuuut...what if you get a smart coach who knows the rules? (Ok, I know, it doesn't happen often... ) A's coach saw both your signals. He argues casebook play 4.19.7(c). You are, in effect, taking away his chance to tie the game with free throws, and win it with a last possesion, just because you don't like how the rules are written and interpreted. The officials screwed up by making two different calls, and the end result is spelled out in black and white. Whether or not we think it's fair doesn't count.

Another example: A1 is dribbling while being closely guarded. B1 tips the ball away and it is about to be picked up by B2 who has a clear breakaway. Your partner (the same rookie who made the blarge call last game...) blows his whistle because A's coach asks for a TO. You get together, realize it's an inadvertant whistle, and give the ball back to A. In addition, A now gets that TO if they still want it. So, B loses a breakaway AND A gets a TO they weren't initially entitled to because of an official's error. Not fair? Of course not, but that's the way the rules are written.

So, don't think of the play actually being both a block and a charge, but look at it as an official's error. The rules spell out what happens if they screw up. If we don't want to be embarrased by applying the casebook play, then we shouldn't be making two different signals.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1