The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   interesting play! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21703-interesting-play.html)

refTN Thu Aug 11, 2005 02:33am

A1 is driving to the hole and B1 steps in to take the charge. They collide and we have a double whistle and we have the dreaded blarge call. The basket goes in. Both officials report the fouls and the basket is counted. Since in the case of a double foul we go to POI where is POI in this case. I was wanting everybodies opinion whether you should:

A)clear the lane, give the one free throw, then give the ball to the other team for a running endline throw-in.

B)Put everybody on the line and just shoot the one free throw

C)Just give the ball to the other team for a running endline throw-in.

Would love to hear everybody's thoughts.

oc Thu Aug 11, 2005 05:35am

I'll go out on a limb and recommend: (FED rules)

D-the basket does not count because of the offensive foul.

2 shots because fouled on an unmade basket.

I believe no one on the line and ball to team B. But I think that rule might have been changed for the coming year to POI so let people get in rebound position during the free throws.


[Edited by oc on Aug 11th, 2005 at 06:39 AM]

ChuckElias Thu Aug 11, 2005 06:33am

Without my books. . .

Count the basket, no FTs, ball to B anywhere along the endline for throw-in.

ChuckElias Thu Aug 11, 2005 06:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by oc
I'll go out on a limb and recommend: (FED rules)

D-the basket does not count because of the offensive foul.

Remember this is not an "offensive" or team control foul, it's a double foul. So the basket is good if it goes. There are no FTs awarded for a double foul.

FrankHtown Thu Aug 11, 2005 07:58am

4.19.7 is the case book reference. It is not a player control, because it's a double foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead. Count the basket. No free throws.(Alternating possession throw-in results).

Wouldn't we now (due to the rule change) just give it to B to run the end line?

ChuckElias Thu Aug 11, 2005 08:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
It is not a player control, because it's a double foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead. Count the basket. No free throws.(Alternating possession throw-in results).

Wouldn't we now (due to the rule change) just give it to B to run the end line?

That answer sounds kind of familiar. . . ;)

Seriously, thanks for the citation.

Love this Game Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
A1 is driving to the hole and B1 steps in to take the charge. They collide and we have a double whistle and we have the dreaded blarge call. The basket goes in. Both officials report the fouls and the basket is counted. Since in the case of a double foul we go to POI where is POI in this case. I was wanting everybodies opinion whether you should:

A)clear the lane, give the one free throw, then give the ball to the other team for a running endline throw-in.

B)Put everybody on the line and just shoot the one free throw

C)Just give the ball to the other team for a running endline throw-in.

Would love to hear everybody's thoughts.

Can you help me with one thing.

You both blew your whistle at the same time correct.

Or is this not a real play you are just asking.

My concern is why didnt you both discuss it quickly instead of you both making the call.

Was this just something you made up or did it really happen.

Love this Game Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
4.19.7 is the case book reference. It is not a player control, because it's a double foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead. Count the basket. No free throws.(Alternating possession throw-in results).

Wouldn't we now (due to the rule change) just give it to B to run the end line?

Yes you would give B the ball just like the play never happend if the bucket went in.

But in this original post i confused

refTN Thu Aug 11, 2005 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Love this Game
Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
A1 is driving to the hole and B1 steps in to take the charge. They collide and we have a double whistle and we have the dreaded blarge call. The basket goes in. Both officials report the fouls and the basket is counted. Since in the case of a double foul we go to POI where is POI in this case. I was wanting everybodies opinion whether you should:

A)clear the lane, give the one free throw, then give the ball to the other team for a running endline throw-in.

B)Put everybody on the line and just shoot the one free throw

C)Just give the ball to the other team for a running endline throw-in.

Would love to hear everybody's thoughts.

Can you help me with one thing.

You both blew your whistle at the same time correct.

Or is this not a real play you are just asking.

My concern is why didnt you both discuss it quickly instead of you both making the call.

Was this just something you made up or did it really happen.

LTG I have never had this play personally, but a crew in my assosciation had it last year and they got it all right but they didn't count the basket when it went in.

Yes they blew their whistles at the same time, but I am saying they both gave to quick of a prelim signal before making eye contact with their partner, therefore since both gave the signals already the mechanic says that you report both, which is a double foul, and the basket counts, and then they went with the arrow, but now it would be POI, which would be an endline throw-in for the other team.

Love this Game Fri Aug 12, 2005 07:19am

I guess my question was answered.


I was jsut curious, as to why th did not make eye contact when they both heard there whistle.

tjones1 Fri Aug 12, 2005 07:29am

I know (or he did anyways) MTD and I both have the same thoughts about this case. One of us is going to eat this call - it's either a block or a charge. I know these things <i>can</i> happen. However, you if pre-game this, 99.9% of the time you're going to avoid it. I also know this wasn't the question! :) :p

How's everyone slooooooooow Friday mornin' going?

JugglingReferee Fri Aug 12, 2005 07:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
I know (or he did anyways) MTD and I both have the same thoughts about this case. One of us is going to eat this call - it's either a block or a charge. I know these things <i>can</i> happen. However, you if pre-game this, 99.9% of the time you're going to avoid it. I also know this wasn't the question! :) :p

How's everyone slooooooooow Friday mornin' going?

I guess this is the difference between a case book situation and an approved ruling. My understanding in an AR is that that the official has no choice on how to continue the game - the procedure has already been determined. An AR in teh ACC is an AR in teh PAC-10.

As for a case book play, some people go with what has been printed in text, for all to read across the country, and others go with a ruling that could be different a gym 5 minutes away.

Love this Game Fri Aug 12, 2005 07:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
I know (or he did anyways) MTD and I both have the same thoughts about this case. One of us is going to eat this call - it's either a block or a charge. I know these things <i>can</i> happen. However, you if pre-game this, 99.9% of the time you're going to avoid it. I also know this wasn't the question! :) :p

How's everyone slooooooooow Friday mornin' going?

I am with both of you.

I just dont understand how you would have a doulbe foul on this one.

Either a block or a charge. There is no way you have both.

And yes someone would have ate there whistle.

First rule is when you hear another whistle, find that person who made that call with eye contact. And if you have to discuss it discuss it quickly and make the right all.

I think in that situation a double foul is a bail out call.

tjones1 Fri Aug 12, 2005 07:52am

I understand that, I just feel this is the easy way out. I haven't had the situation yet (knock on wood) and I think it's because it's something that's always in our pre-game. But, hey, I understand "it" happens.

Love this Game Fri Aug 12, 2005 07:59am

It does happen, two whistles at the same time, but as you get older, more experienced you learn not to signal that call.

Like if i am lead and the C or T makes a call and I blow my whistle also.

I usally let them take the call just because they saw what was happening as it was coming at me.

I normally saw the end result.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1