The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   hand's part of the ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21302-hands-part-ball.html)

oc Fri Jul 15, 2005 06:54am

Hand is part of the ball?
 
B1, in an attempt to play the ball, slaps at A1's hand while A1's hand is on the ball (dribbling or holding the ball).

situation 1: ball goes oob.

situation 2: A1 loses control of the ball and team B picks it up.


In situation 1: I got A's ball oob on B.

in situation 2: I got a no call.

Am I right? Friend of mine made a good point that my interpretation on these 2 situations isn't really consistent-although I still think I am probably right because in situation 1 it would be very difficult for B1 to have contacted all hand without touching a little of the ball.

situation 3: A1 attempts to rebound the ball and gets one hand on it. B1 pushes A1's hand and ball goes oob. It is obvious B1 never touched the ball-only A1's hand. Whose ball?

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 07:21am

MISCONCEPTION: The hand is <b>not</b> part of the ball. I've never, ever seen a ball with a hand attached to it.

There is a exception to the rules that sez it's not a foul if you contact an opponent's hand while it is on the ball, as long as that contact is deemed incidental to an attempt to play the ball. Iow, it's a judgement call. If an official feels that a defender <b>deliberately</b> whacked an opponent's hand while it was on the ball, then it <b>is</b> a foul. As most officials aren't mindreaders, the usual call is that the contact <b>was</b> incidental and not deliberate, and therefore no foul was involved.

Just semantics, but I wanted to straighten that one out.

rainmaker Fri Jul 15, 2005 09:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by oc
B1, in an attempt to play the ball, slaps at A1's hand while A1's hand is on the ball (dribbling or holding the ball).

situation 1: ball goes oob.

situation 2: A1 loses control of the ball and team B picks it up.


In situation 1: I got A's ball oob on B.

in situation 2: I got a no call.

Am I right? Friend of mine made a good point that my interpretation on these 2 situations isn't really consistent-although I still think I am probably right because in situation 1 it would be very difficult for B1 to have contacted all hand without touching a little of the ball.

situation 3: A1 attempts to rebound the ball and gets one hand on it. B1 pushes A1's hand and ball goes oob. It is obvious B1 never touched the ball-only A1's hand. Whose ball?

Re #1: Unless I see B contact the ball, I call it oob on A, B's ball. My thinking is that if the defender is skilled enough to get all hand (and unless I see otherwise, that's what they did), then I want to reward that good defense.

There's some gray area here, though. If the defender was AIMING for the hand, is the contact incidental? It is a play on the ball, since it aims to control the ball, but it does it through the dribbler's hand. So where does that fall, Jurassic?

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 09:31am

A ball.
B caused ball to go outa bounds.

rainmaker Fri Jul 15, 2005 09:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
A ball.
B caused ball to go outa bounds.

Seriously, mick?

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
A ball.
B caused ball to go outa bounds.

Seriously, mick?

Yes, Jewel.
If the ball goes cleanly out, without A touching again,
then I saw B cause the ball to go out.
Quick, clean, fair.
mick

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
A ball.
B caused ball to go outa bounds.

Seriously, mick?

Yes, Jewel.
If the ball goes cleanly out, without A touching again,
then I saw B cause the ball to go out.
Quick, clean, fair.
mick

Now comes the fun part......:D

Got a rule to back that up, Mick? One that negates R7-2-1?

Old Dude Ref Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:39am

I agree with the decisions made.

Let's include one more situation. Defenders almost always disagree when a foul is called on them when a shooter has just released the ball on a try and their hand contacts the shooters hand when the ball is barely released. I always call this a foul. My theory is the follow-through is very important on a shot and that hand-to-hand contact disrupts the shot and therefore should be a foul.

Your thoughts.

M&M Guy Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Now comes the fun part......:D

Got a rule to back that up, Mick? One that negates R7-2-1?

Ooooh, I just LOVE the smell of freshly-popped corn...

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:33pm

Fact, not fancy.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
A ball.
B caused ball to go outa bounds.

Seriously, mick?

Yes, Jewel.
If the ball goes cleanly out, without A touching again,
then I saw B cause the ball to go out.
Quick, clean, fair.
mick

Now comes the fun part......:D

Got a rule to back that up, Mick? One that negates R7-2-1?

JR,
I *<s>AB</s>use* 7-2-1.
[*] "Coach, if it happened the way you say, then I may have kicked it."
mick

FrankHtown Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:58pm

9-3 says "A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds" Isn't that what B1 did? Caused the ball to go out of bounds?

Camron Rust Fri Jul 15, 2005 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref
I agree with the decisions made.

Let's include one more situation. Defenders almost always disagree when a foul is called on them when a shooter has just released the ball on a try and their hand contacts the shooters hand when the ball is barely released. I always call this a foul. My theory is the follow-through is very important on a shot and that hand-to-hand contact disrupts the shot and therefore should be a foul.

Your thoughts.

While follow-through is important, its important only in the sense that the shooter releases the ball in the proper motion....and the follow-through is just an indicator of that. After the ball is released, there is no amount of contact on the shooter that will affect the shot. I'll rarely call a mere brushing of the hands after the release....it's simply not part of the play.

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
9-3 says "A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds" Isn't that what B1 did? Caused the ball to go out of bounds?
:)
Yer a good man, FrankHtown.
Although there is no clarification for 9-3, 7.2.1 Situation works close enough for me.

I think this is not unlike:[*]Rebounder A with good position reaches straight up to grab rebound [hands on the *sides* of the round ball] while rebounder B swats the back of the ball outa bounds. B causes the ball to be outa bounds, although, physically, A may have touched the ball last.

mick

reffish Fri Jul 15, 2005 01:53pm

So, ball is heading out of bounds, A1 is able to catch ball and fling it over his head to save the ball. The ball is visibly going out of bounds before B1, who is behind him, reaches out with his hand and his fingers visible touch the ball. With or without the touching by B1, the ball was going to be OOB, due to the action of A1 saving the ball and cousing the ball to go OOB at another location. Whose ball?

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
9-3 says "A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds" Isn't that what B1 did? Caused the ball to go out of bounds?
Yabut.....B1 caused the ball to go OOB by knocking it off of A1's hands last, right?

Is that really any different than B1 trying to save a ball and throwing it off of A1's body so that it then goes OOB? Are you gonna give A1 the ball in that sitch too by using the same rationale? Wasn't the ball last touched inbounds by A1 in <b>both</b> of these cases?

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by reffish
So, ball is heading out of bounds, A1 is able to catch ball and fling it over his head to save the ball. The ball is visibly going out of bounds before B1, who is behind him, reaches out with his hand and his fingers visible touch the ball. With or without the touching by B1, the ball was going to be OOB, due to the action of A1 saving the ball and cousing the ball to go OOB at another location. Whose ball?
reffish,
Your different sitch would be Team A ball for throw-in.
mick

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
[/B]

Although there is no clarification for 9-3, 7.2.1 Situation works close enough for me.

[/B][/QUOTE]How is 7.2.1 relevant? In that play, B1 bats the <b>ball</b>, not the <b>hand(s)</b>. Different situation entirely.


mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref
I agree with the decisions made.

Let's include one more situation. Defenders almost always disagree when a foul is called on them when a shooter has just released the ball on a try and their hand contacts the shooters hand when the ball is barely released. I always call this a foul. My theory is the follow-through is very important on a shot and that hand-to-hand contact disrupts the shot and therefore should be a foul.

Your thoughts.

Old Dude Ref,
Welcome to the forum.

With the ball released [<I>off the hand</I>], any further follow through of the hand becomes nothing more than *hand jive*, body English and cannot possibly affect the rotation, or flight, of the ball with anything except the increased air circulation of the follow-through, ...assuming there is no magic wand in that particular grip. :)

mick


Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref
I agree with the decisions made.

Let's include one more situation. Defenders almost always disagree when a foul is called on them when <font color = red>a shooter has just released the ball on a try and their hand contacts the shooters hand when the ball is barely released</font>. I always call this a foul. My theory is the follow-through is very important on a shot and that hand-to-hand contact disrupts the shot and therefore should be a foul.

Your thoughts.

How could a shot possibly be disrupted by contact that occurred </b>after</b> the shot left the shooter's hands? That's physically impossible. After the shot is gone, you would have to touch the ball to disrupt it's flight. Any contact by the defender that occurs after the shot is gone should be ignored as being incidental unless it happens to place the shooter at some kinda disadvantage or it's rough play. Jmo.

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

Although there is no clarification for 9-3, 7.2.1 Situation works close enough for me.

[/B]
How is 7.2.1 relevant? In that play, B1 bats the <b>ball</b>, not the <b>hand(s)</b>. Different situation entirely.

[/B][/QUOTE]

<LI>"Sorry if I kicked another one, Coach.
But, I woulda sworn he hit the ball, ...again."
:)
mick

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

Although there is no clarification for 9-3, 7.2.1 Situation works close enough for me.

How is 7.2.1 relevant? In that play, B1 bats the <b>ball</b>, not the <b>hand(s)</b>. Different situation entirely.

[/B]
<LI>"Sorry if I kicked another one, Coach.
But, I woulda sworn he hit the ball, ...again."
:)
mick [/B][/QUOTE]The best unanswered question yet is still:

How many would call this play by the letter of the rule and give B1 the ball? And how many would give A1 the ball because of B1's contact with their hands forcing the ball to go OOB?

Note that I haven't said either way yet what I'd do. :D

blindzebra Fri Jul 15, 2005 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick

Although there is no clarification for 9-3, 7.2.1 Situation works close enough for me.

How is 7.2.1 relevant? In that play, B1 bats the <b>ball</b>, not the <b>hand(s)</b>. Different situation entirely.

<LI>"Sorry if I kicked another one, Coach.
But, I woulda sworn he hit the ball, ...again."
:)
mick [/B]
The best unanswered question yet is still:

How many would call this play by the letter of the rule and give B1 the ball? And how many would give A1 the ball because of B1's contact with their hands forcing the ball to go OOB?

Note that I haven't said either way yet what I'd do. :D [/B][/QUOTE]

A's ball, B's fingers made last contact on the ball between A's spread fingers.;)

ChuckElias Fri Jul 15, 2005 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
assuming there is no magic wand in that particular grip. :)
An important stipulation, considering that the new Harry Potter book is being released tonight at midnight. And yes, I have the responsibility of taking my daughter and her friend to the party at our local bookstore. :shrug:

canuckrefguy Fri Jul 15, 2005 04:02pm

Here's a thought....

If the hand is part of the ball, and B1 slaps A1's hand while on the ball, causing the ball to go out of bounds....

Would it not be A's ball - because if B1 touched A1's hand while it was on the ball, it was the same as touching the ball (because the rule says the hand is part of the ball), therefore, technically, B1 was last to touch the ball - so the ball should go to Team A.

Oh, and one more thing....who's on first? :confused:

M&M Guy Fri Jul 15, 2005 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
assuming there is no magic wand in that particular grip. :)
An important stipulation, considering that the new Harry Potter book is being released tonight at midnight. And yes, I have the responsibility of taking my daughter and her friend to the party at our local bookstore. :shrug:

So, where are the friend's parents? Are they going to be safe at home relaxing with that bottle of wine, while you're fighting the crowds at the bookstore late at night? Why aren't THEY taking both kids? Isn't it their turn? Where's your indignation, Chuck?


Yea, I've gotta take my kids too. :rolleyes:

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 15, 2005 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Here's a thought....

If the hand is part of the ball, and B1 slaps A1's hand while on the ball, causing the ball to go out of bounds....

Would it not be A's ball - because if B1 touched A1's hand while it was on the ball, it was the same as touching the ball (because the rule says the hand is part of the ball), therefore, technically, B1 was last to touch the ball - so the ball should go to Team A.


Nope, the rule <b>doesn't</b> say the hand is part of the ball. The rule (R10-6-1) sez "He/she shall not contact an opponent with his/her hand unless such contact is only with the opponent's hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball". Iow, if you judge the whack on the hand "incidental contact", then it ain't a foul.

The other relevant rule is R7-2-1, which sez "The ball is caused to go out of bounds by the last player in bounds to touch it, or be touched by it...".

Put 'em together, and the only possible calls, by strict interpretation of the rules (I think) is:
1) Judge the contact on A1's hand by B1 as a foul on B1.
2) Judge the contact on A1's hand by B1 as incidental contact, which means no foul---> but A1 was now the last player to touch the ball in bounds---> so you end up with a B throw-in.

Anybody disagree with that from a strict rules standpoint?

PS- Personally, I'm in favor of giving the ball back to A for a throw-in. I think that this was the original purpose and intent of the rules. B shouldn't benefit or gain an advantage after initiating the physical contact in this case imo.

ChuckElias Fri Jul 15, 2005 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
Why aren't THEY taking both kids? Isn't it their turn? Where's your indignation, Chuck?

Nah, no indignation. They're both great girls. We'd already made plans to have her sleep over our house tonight. The Potter Party will just be a bonus -- for them.

Quote:

Yea, I've gotta take my kids too. :rolleyes:
Gotta love being a dad, huh? LOL Enjoy your pumpkin juice and chocolate frogs! :D

M&M Guy Fri Jul 15, 2005 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
Why aren't THEY taking both kids? Isn't it their turn? Where's your indignation, Chuck?

Nah, no indignation. They're both great girls. We'd already made plans to have her sleep over our house tonight. The Potter Party will just be a bonus -- for them.

Quote:

Yea, I've gotta take my kids too. :rolleyes:
Gotta love being a dad, huh? LOL Enjoy your pumpkin juice and chocolate frogs! :D

Have you ever tried those Bertie Botts all flavor beans (or whatever they're called). The ones that have the different flavors like buttered popcorn and cherry, as well as grass, ear wax and vomit. I don't know how they do it, but the flavors are all accurate.

So, anyway, what's this have to do with hands and balls?

M&M Guy Fri Jul 15, 2005 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
PS- Personally, I'm in favor of giving the ball back to A for a throw-in. I think that this was the original purpose and intent of the rules. B shouldn't benefit or gain an advantage after initiating the physical contact in this case imo.
GASP!!!

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/dice-man/sanford.jpg

You mean there are times you would make a call that is literally opposite what the rule actually states?!? How could you?!?

(BTW - I agree with you.) I know, I know, you're already typing, "But I would do the same for both teams." I just couldn't resist.

Back In The Saddle Fri Jul 15, 2005 08:07pm

As for the contact with the shooter's hand after the shot is released, I've got nothing. Fred Flintstone is the only person I've ever seen effect the path of a ball once it's released using further body motion. :D

As for B1 hittings A1's hand and causing the ball to go OOB, I have to agree with JR that by strict interpretation it would have to be B's ball. But I take the position that the rules committee didn't intend to give B1 free shots at A1's hand, but rather to simplify what would otherwise be a very hair-splitting judgement call by absolving B1 of responsibility for the contact on the hand as long as he is attempting to play the ball. In that case, I think we should proceed as if he did play the ball and give it back to A. The rule may not say that the hand is part of the ball, but I think that's closer to the committee's intent than the strict interpretation.

[Edited by Back In The Saddle on Jul 15th, 2005 at 09:10 PM]

alfreedog Fri Jul 15, 2005 08:37pm

While I do agree with some statements, it is clearly a foul on B if he slaps A's hand when it is on the ball. If B does slap A's hand and everyone hears it you would call a foul. So why not call the foul when there is contact and only you hear it, it is still a foul. That is not good defense when A controlls the ball and B gets controll by hitting my hand.

Old Dude Ref Fri Jul 15, 2005 09:01pm

Let's try another analogy.

I'm sure most of you golf. Let's suppose you stopped your swing one foot AFTER you hit your ball. Would you say that wouldn't have an affect on the flight? Belive me I've hit enough shots under a tree to know there's quite a negative affect on my ball when I can only followthru so far. Same thing on a shot. Go in your driveway and try it. Have someone foul you on the hand (or arm) just when the ball's released. You can't tell me it doesn't affect the shot.

Mark Dexter Fri Jul 15, 2005 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref
Let's try another analogy.

I'm sure most of you golf. Let's suppose you stopped your swing one foot AFTER you hit your ball. Would you say that wouldn't have an affect on the flight? Belive me I've hit enough shots under a tree to know there's quite a negative affect on my ball when I can only followthru so far. Same thing on a shot. Go in your driveway and try it. Have someone foul you on the hand (or arm) just when the ball's released. You can't tell me it doesn't affect the shot.

Follow-through is very important, and I certainly call fouls on the shooter before the shooter returns to the floor, *BUT*

The golf analogy doesn't work perfectly here. The reason why your golf shot is changed is because you slow down your swing in order to have the club stop 1 foot past the tee. Assuming the shooter doesn't think he/she is going to get fouled, contact after the shot will not affect the shot.

The assumption, however, is one of the reasons why I do call some fouls on the follow-through, though.

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref
Let's try another analogy.

I'm sure most of you golf. Let's suppose you stopped your swing one foot AFTER you hit your ball. Would you say that wouldn't have an affect on the flight? Belive me I've hit enough shots under a tree to know there's quite a negative affect on my ball when I can only followthru so far. Same thing on a shot. Go in your driveway and try it. Have someone foul you on the hand (or arm) just when the ball's released. You can't tell me it doesn't affect the shot.

What Dexter said.
He knows stuff.
mick

mick Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:53pm

Careful here.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by alfreedog
While I do agree with some statements, it is clearly a foul on B if he slaps A's hand when it is on the ball. If B does slap A's hand and everyone hears it <font color =red>you</font> would call a foul. <U><font color =red>So why not call the foul when there is contact and only you hear it</font></U>, it is still a foul. That is not good defense when A controlls the ball and B gets controll by hitting my hand.
alfreedog,
How do you know what I would call? Is that like, "It sounded like a strike" ?
I called a sound <U>one time</U>. The sound was a sharp smack on the ball. ...Egg on my face. :(
mick

rainmaker Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:20pm

Okay, I've been gone all day, and it's probably just as well, since this thread has been much more entertaining and interesting without me!

I call it good defense if B can get the ball away from A and oob without B touching the ball, so that B gets the throw-in. By rule, that's the way the game is played.

I'm also very glad to have no Harry Potter fans in the family. I would not want to stay awake till midnight tonight!! Now if it was Beverly Clearly, I'd stand in line for three days, but I'm afraid those days are over.

Old Dude Ref Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:57pm

Thank you Dexter.

I agree that it doesn't happen often but for some to never call it because it doesn't affect the shot is simply not true. It is definitely a judgement call but it does happen.

blindzebra Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by alfreedog
While I do agree with some statements, it is clearly a foul on B if he slaps A's hand when it is on the ball. If B does slap A's hand and everyone hears it you would call a foul. So why not call the foul when there is contact and only you hear it, it is still a foul. That is not good defense when A controlls the ball and B gets controll by hitting my hand.
The rule does not say that in fact it says the exact opposite. If you are going by sound, you are guessing. There are plenty of times when a defender will clap their hands on a shot attempt. I've seen defenders hit their teammates arm playing a shot, and that makes a slapping sound too. Michael Jordan used to hit his own arm when he turned his body and did a reverse layup.

You ref by sound and you'll be wrong most of the time.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jul 16, 2005 01:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by alfreedog
While I do agree with some statements, it is clearly a foul on B if he slaps A's hand when it is on the ball. If B does slap A's hand and everyone hears it you would call a foul. So why not call the foul when there is contact and only you hear it, it is still a foul. That is not good defense when A controlls the ball and B gets controll by hitting my hand.
The rule does not say that in fact it says the exact opposite. If you are going by sound, you are guessing. There are plenty of times when a defender will clap their hands on a shot attempt. I've seen defenders hit their teammates arm playing a shot, and that makes a slapping sound too. Michael Jordan used to hit his own arm when he turned his body and did a reverse layup.

You ref by sound and you'll be wrong most of the time.

Lah me.

What BZ said!

Did you read R10-6-1, Al? You're completely wrong on the concept used for this one.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jul 16, 2005 01:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref

I'm sure most of you golf. Let's suppose you stopped your swing one foot AFTER you hit your ball. Would you say that wouldn't have an affect on the flight?

Absolutely not. The flight of the ball is set by the contact of the ball with the club head. End of story. Once that contact is over, it's impossible to further affect the flight of the ball in any way, shape or form, no matter what you do, as long as you don't touch the ball again.

rainmaker Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref

I'm sure most of you golf. Let's suppose you stopped your swing one foot AFTER you hit your ball. Would you say that wouldn't have an affect on the flight?

Absolutely not. The flight of the ball is set by the contact of the ball with the club head. End of story. Once that contact is over, it's impossible to further affect the flight of the ball in any way, shape or form, no matter what you do, as long as you don't touch the ball again.

The physics you describe are correct. The real question is whether you can plan to stop your swing one foot after the contact, without changing the contact. Probably not, as I'm sure you would agree.

But that's not a good comparison to the contact after the shot in basketball. The shooter should plan on following through, and then take whatever hit comes afterward. The defender should hope to influence the shooter to alter her shot to avoid the effect of the blocking. This is not, in itself, illegal.

If there's slight contact after the ball is gone, it's usually incidental, as long as the defender is maintaining legal hand and arm position. However, it doesn't matter how slight the contact is, a foul is committed, if the defender's hands aren't in a legal position. There may still be good reasons not to call it, but it's much more justifiable a call than the slight contact after the ball's gone with the hands completely legal.

blindzebra Sat Jul 16, 2005 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Old Dude Ref

I'm sure most of you golf. Let's suppose you stopped your swing one foot AFTER you hit your ball. Would you say that wouldn't have an affect on the flight?

Absolutely not. The flight of the ball is set by the contact of the ball with the club head. End of story. Once that contact is over, it's impossible to further affect the flight of the ball in any way, shape or form, no matter what you do, as long as you don't touch the ball again.

The physics you describe are correct. The real question is whether you can plan to stop your swing one foot after the contact, without changing the contact. Probably not, as I'm sure you would agree.

But that's not a good comparison to the contact after the shot in basketball. The shooter should plan on following through, and then take whatever hit comes afterward. The defender should hope to influence the shooter to alter her shot to avoid the effect of the blocking. This is not, in itself, illegal.

If there's slight contact after the ball is gone, it's usually incidental, as long as the defender is maintaining legal hand and arm position. However, it doesn't matter how slight the contact is, a foul is committed, if the defender's hands aren't in a legal position. There may still be good reasons not to call it, but it's much more justifiable a call than the slight contact after the ball's gone with the hands completely legal.

Once the ball is gone it's simple, does the contact hinder the shooter's landing or ability to rebound? Don't make it that complicated.

Back In The Saddle Sat Jul 16, 2005 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Okay, I've been gone all day, and it's probably just as well, since this thread has been much more entertaining and interesting without me!

I call it good defense if B can get the ball away from A and oob without B touching the ball, so that B gets the throw-in. By rule, that's the way the game is played.

I'm also very glad to have no Harry Potter fans in the family. I would not want to stay awake till midnight tonight!! Now if it was Beverly Clearly, I'd stand in line for three days, but I'm afraid those days are over.

I took my daughter to Border's last night for the Harry Potter thing. It was kind of fun. I got some writing done, my daughter had a lot of fun, and I had no idea there were so many hot women working in book stores. I need to buy more books!

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense? Do you see coaches teaching their kids this? "Okay guys, listen up. Today we're going to drill hitting the opponents hand while it's on the ball to deflect the ball out of bounds." I just don't see it. At most a kid might get lucky to have it work out. It is certainly a high risk, low percentage gamble.

You'll also have a devil of a time convincing me that the intent of that little exception in the rule is to allow B to take cheap shots at A's hand. Or that they intended that if B hit A's hand and thus knocked the ball oob that they intended for B to have the ball. The contact is "incidental to an attempt to play the ball" and should be treated as such. Ignore the incidental contact and make your call based on B playing the ball.

rainmaker Sat Jul 16, 2005 08:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm not talking about hitting. I guess I'm not making myself clear. I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

Jurassic Referee Sat Jul 16, 2005 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm not talking about hitting. I guess I'm not making myself clear. I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

It's kinda hard imo to say the contact was "incidental" when B ended up gaining a definite advantage from the contact.

Incidental contact is something that doesn't affect a play. I don't think you can say that about B's contact in this particular play. The contact made A lose possession of the ball.

That's what I don't like and that's why I wouldn't give B the ball for a throw-in.

rainmaker Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm not talking about hitting. I guess I'm not making myself clear. I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

It's kinda hard imo to say the contact was "incidental" when B ended up gaining a definite advantage from the contact.

Incidental contact is something that doesn't affect a play. I don't think you can say that about B's contact in this particular play. The contact made A lose possession of the ball.

That's what I don't like and that's why I wouldn't give B the ball for a throw-in.

But by rule, is your position legitimate? If you think the contact wasn't incidental, you should call a foul, right?

Jurassic Referee Sun Jul 17, 2005 01:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

It's kinda hard imo to say the contact was "incidental" when B ended up gaining a definite advantage from the contact.

Incidental contact is something that doesn't affect a play. I don't think you can say that about B's contact in this particular play. The contact made A lose possession of the ball.

That's what I don't like and that's why I wouldn't give B the ball for a throw-in.

But by rule, is your position legitimate? If you think the contact wasn't incidental, you should call a foul, right?

Jeeze, I thought I clarified that way back......:D

My position is legitimate(in my mind).....but wrong by rule.

You're right, Juulie; imo the only options by rule are a foul on B1 or a B throw-in. Just my own observation, but I think that most of the time though A gets the ball back through the idea conveyed before by somebody--the principle that B1 actually caused the ball to go OOB.

Now, how does everyone else call this play in real life?

blindzebra Sun Jul 17, 2005 01:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

It's kinda hard imo to say the contact was "incidental" when B ended up gaining a definite advantage from the contact.

Incidental contact is something that doesn't affect a play. I don't think you can say that about B's contact in this particular play. The contact made A lose possession of the ball.

That's what I don't like and that's why I wouldn't give B the ball for a throw-in.

But by rule, is your position legitimate? If you think the contact wasn't incidental, you should call a foul, right?

Jeeze, I thought I clarified that way back......:D

My position is legitimate(in my mind).....but wrong by rule.

You're right, Juulie; imo the only options by rule are a foul on B1 or a B throw-in. Just my own observation, but I think that most of the time though A gets the ball back through the idea conveyed before by somebody--the principle that B1 actually caused the ball to go OOB.

Now, how does everyone else call this play in real life?

A's ball, mainly because it's within the spirt of the rules and frankly just good old common sense.

You are penalizing who actually caused the ball to go OOBs, even if technically they were not the last to actually touch the ball, and you are not penalizing them more harshly with a foul.

Camron Rust Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm not talking about hitting. I guess I'm not making myself clear. I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

It's kinda hard imo to say the contact was "incidental" when B ended up gaining a definite advantage from the contact.

Incidental contact is something that doesn't affect a play. I don't think you can say that about B's contact in this particular play. The contact made A lose possession of the ball.

That's what I don't like and that's why I wouldn't give B the ball for a throw-in.

Incidental contact is contact that would, by the letter of the rule, be a foul but is deemed no so because it had no effect.

The hand/ball situation, by the letter of the rule, is not incidental contact, it's simply not an infraction of the rules in any way.

The fact that B might gain an advantage in this situation involving contact is not relevant either. The contact involved is clearly specified as legal contact. Therefore, and advantage gained by B is intended by the rules.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Jul 17th, 2005 at 03:10 AM]

Jurassic Referee Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

As to it being good defense, if you are saying it's "good defense" for B to knock the ball away from A by hitting A's hand while it's on the ball, we have very different definitions of good defense. How can you call B hitting A intentionally good defense?

I'm not talking about hitting. I guess I'm not making myself clear. I'm talking about the play where B tries to tap? bump? guide? the ball away from A, and in the process B provides the force for the ball to go oob, but does it without ever touching the ball. It's a play on the ball, and the contact is incidental to the play, and A is the last one to touch, so B gets the ball for a throw-in. What's not to like?

It's kinda hard imo to say the contact was "incidental" when B ended up gaining a definite advantage from the contact.

Incidental contact is something that doesn't affect a play. I don't think you can say that about B's contact in this particular play. The contact made A lose possession of the ball.

That's what I don't like and that's why I wouldn't give B the ball for a throw-in.

Incidental contact is contact that would, by the letter of the rule, be a foul but is deemed no so because it had no effect.

The hand/ball situation, by the letter of the rule is not incidental contact, it's simply not an infraction of the rules in any way.

The fact that B might gain an advantage in this situation involving contact is not relevant either. The contact involved is clearly specified as legal contact. Therefore, and advantage gained by B is intended by the rules.

So.....after wading through all that, I take it that personally you're giving B a throw-in?

Camron Rust Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

You're right, Juulie; imo the only options by rule are a foul on B1 or a B throw-in. Just my own observation, but I think that most of the time though A gets the ball back through the idea conveyed before by somebody--the principle that B1 actually caused the ball to go OOB.

Now, how does everyone else call this play in real life?

A foul on B1 is not a rule option. The rule quite clearly says this is not a foul if the contact was on only the hand and the target of was the target rather than the hand.

If B1 does not contact the ball in the process, the only valid rule option is OOB on A1. By definition, A1 caused the ball to go out. The defintion is that the ball is caused to go OOB by the last person to contact or be contacted by the ball before it goes OOB...it is not caused to go out by the person who provided the impetus for the ball going out.

Consider B1 batting a ball towards the OOB line where, just before it is OOB, it is touched ever so slightly by A1. Are you suggecting that A should get the ball since it would have gone out anyway? (I don't think so).

Now in practice, I don't recall seeing a time when B1 really contacted only the hand. There is practially always contact on both the ball and the hand...with B1 often having the final contact. Given that, the possibility of calling it OOB on B1 and returning the ball to A is a valid possibilty...and will most alway be my call. However, I have seen situations where A1 clearly was in contact with the ball slightly after B1 hits it...A1 trying to maintain control of the ball, even if only briefly.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Jul 17th, 2005 at 03:12 AM]

SavaahnTy Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:52am

Ok, I didnt read everyones reply.. for the sole reason that I wanted to give my opinion first without " cheating ". I did read a couple of the first ones, which did not contain any rules postings....

#1 - If the hand is part of the ball, which it is if the defender is attempting to make a play on the ball, and the ball goes out of bounds, then you must give the ball to Team A. The hand is part of the ball, and the ball was knocked out of bounds by Team B's player.

Re: one answer to #1 - as we are NOT mind readers, I would believe that the situation would be reversed, and as officials..we would have to assume that the defender WAS making a play on the ball.....if you are going to assume, then my opinion would be not to assume there is a foul commited. I can gladly tell you that I have missed a few obvious calls in my short career, and when my explanation to the irrate coach includes my choice of poor position during the play...along with the fact that I will not guess on a call NO MATTER WHAT....I slowly earn their respect ( only after that particular game, of course )

#2 - No call.. hand part of ball, even though contact may have caused loss of control.

Just my opinion, and not meant to demean anyone or their opinions. New officials, learn to value the opinions of other officials to broaden your mind about possible situations!

Savaahn

Jurassic Referee Sun Jul 17, 2005 09:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by SavaahnTy
Ok, I didnt read everyones reply.. for the sole reason that I wanted to give my opinion first without " cheating ". I did read a couple of the first ones, which did not contain any rules postings....

#1 - If the hand is part of the ball, which it is if the defender is attempting to make a play on the ball, and the ball goes out of bounds, then you must give the ball to Team A. The hand is part of the ball, and the ball was knocked out of bounds by Team B's player.

Re: one answer to #1 - as we are NOT mind readers, I would believe that the situation would be reversed, and as officials..we would have to assume that the defender WAS making a play on the ball.....if you are going to assume, then my opinion would be not to assume there is a foul commited. I can gladly tell you that I have missed a few obvious calls in my short career, and when my explanation to the irrate coach includes my choice of poor position during the play...along with the fact that I will not guess on a call NO MATTER WHAT....I slowly earn their respect ( only after that particular game, of course )

#2 - No call.. hand part of ball, even though contact may have caused loss of control.

Just my opinion, and not meant to demean anyone or their opinions. New officials, learn to value the opinions of other officials to broaden your mind about possible situations!

Savaahn

Where may I find the rule that states the hand is part of the ball?

Please broaden my mind.

devdog69 Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:57am

Wow...what a thread.
1) I'm surprised at those of you who are going to give B the ball for a throw-in, ;)

2) No, the hand is not part of the ball...buuuutttt..the rule exception essentially lets us treat it as such WHEN the defender is making a legitimate play on the ball. That rule rewards the defense, great. Now if I make a play on the ball and incidentally hit the hand, which is actually the ball, and the ball goes out of bounds, I have caused the ball to go out of bounds, period. A's ball for the ensuing throw-in.

Camron Rust Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Wow...what a thread.
1) I'm surprised at those of you who are going to give B the ball for a throw-in, ;)

2) No, the hand is not part of the ball...buuuutttt..the rule exception essentially lets us treat it as such WHEN the defender is making a legitimate play on the ball. That rule rewards the defense, great. Now if I make a play on the ball and incidentally hit the hand, which is actually the ball, and the ball goes out of bounds, I have caused the ball to go out of bounds, period. A's ball for the ensuing throw-in.

The rule never says the hand is part of the ball or anything like it. It says it's not a foul to hit the hand when it is in contact with the ball. That rule is ONLY relevant to the determination of a foul. It has absolutely no part in determining who what the last to touch the ball before it went OOB.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Wow...what a thread.
1) I'm surprised at those of you who are going to give B the ball for a throw-in, ;)

2) No, the hand is not part of the ball...buuuutttt..the rule exception essentially lets us treat it as such WHEN the defender is making a legitimate play on the ball. That rule rewards the defense, great. Now if I make a play on the ball and incidentally hit the hand, which is actually the ball, and the ball goes out of bounds, I have caused the ball to go out of bounds, period. A's ball for the ensuing throw-in.

The rule never says the hand is part of the ball or anything like it. It says it's not a foul to hit the hand when it is in contact with the ball. That rule is ONLY relevant to the determination of a foul. It has absolutely no part in determining who what the last to touch the ball before it went OOB.

A-Men!!!!

blindzebra Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:52pm

Just because it does not use those exact words, what the heck else does contact on the hand, while on the ball mean other than the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

A coach asks, "Didn't my player get hit?"

What are you going to answer with?

"Contact that is incidental to playing the ball that contacts the hand while it's on the ball, by rule, is not a foul coach."

Or

"The hand's part of the ball coach."

Same thing, #2, like it or not, is what #1 is saying.

Camron Rust Sun Jul 17, 2005 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Just because it does not use those exact words, what the heck else does contact on the hand, while on the ball mean other than the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

A coach asks, "Didn't my player get hit?"

What are you going to answer with?

"Contact that is incidental to playing the ball that contacts the hand while it's on the ball, by rule, is not a foul coach."

Or

"The hand's part of the ball coach."

Same thing, #2, like it or not, is what #1 is saying.

Agreed...in the context of a foul...not for OOB.

devdog69 Sun Jul 17, 2005 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Just because it does not use those exact words, what the heck else does contact on the hand, while on the ball mean other than the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

A coach asks, "Didn't my player get hit?"

What are you going to answer with?

"Contact that is incidental to playing the ball that contacts the hand while it's on the ball, by rule, is not a foul coach."

Or

"The hand's part of the ball coach."

Same thing, #2, like it or not, is what #1 is saying.

Agreed...in the context of a foul...not for OOB.

Camron, so you are saying that A1 is dribbling and B1 slaps and gets hand/ball or all hand and the ball goes out of bounds it is B's ball for the ensuing throw-in?

blindzebra Sun Jul 17, 2005 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Just because it does not use those exact words, what the heck else does contact on the hand, while on the ball mean other than the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

A coach asks, "Didn't my player get hit?"

What are you going to answer with?

"Contact that is incidental to playing the ball that contacts the hand while it's on the ball, by rule, is not a foul coach."

Or

"The hand's part of the ball coach."

Same thing, #2, like it or not, is what #1 is saying.

Agreed...in the context of a foul...not for OOB.

And I agree that it is not repeated in 7-2, but by logic or common sense...or whatever term you and JR want to use...most officials will give that ball back to A when it goes directly OOB because of the contact.

Whether you want to justify it by carrying over 10-6-1 or by just using the old, B got some ball too, the results are the same.

Sometimes common sense and the spirit and intent within the rules are needed and this play fits that need.

devdog69 Sun Jul 17, 2005 03:28pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by blindzebra
[B][QUOTE]Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Sometimes common sense and the spirit and intent within the rules are needed and this play fits that need.
AMEN!

Camron Rust Sun Jul 17, 2005 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Just because it does not use those exact words, what the heck else does contact on the hand, while on the ball mean other than the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

A coach asks, "Didn't my player get hit?"

What are you going to answer with?

"Contact that is incidental to playing the ball that contacts the hand while it's on the ball, by rule, is not a foul coach."

Or

"The hand's part of the ball coach."

Same thing, #2, like it or not, is what #1 is saying.

Agreed...in the context of a foul...not for OOB.

Camron, so you are saying that A1 is dribbling and B1 slaps and gets hand/ball or all hand and the ball goes out of bounds it is B's ball for the ensuing throw-in?

No. Hand & Ball and I'm giving it to A. Hand only (which I don't recall ever actually happening) and I'm giving it to B.

Jimgolf Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:24am

If hitting the dribbler's hand causes the ball to go out of bounds, then it is not incidental contact, and therefore a foul.

However, I'm not going to call a foul. As far as I'm concerned, I saw B hit it OOB, and I'm awarding the ball to A. I suspect that in practice, most of you are going to call it that way as well.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

BTW, can we add "The hand is part of the ball" to the list of rules myths?

blindzebra Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
If hitting the dribbler's hand causes the ball to go out of bounds, then it is not incidental contact, and therefore a foul.

However, I'm not going to call a foul. As far as I'm concerned, I saw B hit it OOB, and I'm awarding the ball to A. I suspect that in practice, most of you are going to call it that way as well.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

BTW, can we add "The hand is part of the ball" to the list of rules myths?

Wrong.

The rule says incidental to playing the ball, not incidental contact. What happens to the ball has nothing to do with it being a foul or not. We are to judge whether or not the defender was playing the ball and frankly short of the defender saying I'm intentially going to hit that hand, it would be highly unlikely it could ever be ruled a foul.

It's not a myth, what else does 10-6-1 say if it is not, the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

canuckrefguy Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
If hitting the dribbler's hand causes the ball to go out of bounds, then it is not incidental contact, and therefore a foul.

However, I'm not going to call a foul. As far as I'm concerned, I saw B hit it OOB, and I'm awarding the ball to A. I suspect that in practice, most of you are going to call it that way as well.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

BTW, can we add "The hand is part of the ball" to the list of rules myths?

Wrong.

The rule says incidental to playing the ball, not incidental contact. What happens to the ball has nothing to do with it being a foul or not. We are to judge whether or not the defender was playing the ball and frankly short of the defender saying I'm intentially going to hit that hand, it would be highly unlikely it could ever be ruled a foul.

It's not a myth, what else does 10-6-1 say if it is not, the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

So I ask, AGAIN....

If this is so, should we not award the ball back to Team A - because the hand is part of the ball, and therefore contacting the hand while on the ball is the same has hitting only the ball?

blindzebra Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
If hitting the dribbler's hand causes the ball to go out of bounds, then it is not incidental contact, and therefore a foul.

However, I'm not going to call a foul. As far as I'm concerned, I saw B hit it OOB, and I'm awarding the ball to A. I suspect that in practice, most of you are going to call it that way as well.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

BTW, can we add "The hand is part of the ball" to the list of rules myths?

Wrong.

The rule says incidental to playing the ball, not incidental contact. What happens to the ball has nothing to do with it being a foul or not. We are to judge whether or not the defender was playing the ball and frankly short of the defender saying I'm intentially going to hit that hand, it would be highly unlikely it could ever be ruled a foul.

It's not a myth, what else does 10-6-1 say if it is not, the hand is considered part of the ball while playing the ball?

So I ask, AGAIN....

If this is so, should we not award the ball back to Team A - because the hand is part of the ball, and therefore contacting the hand while on the ball is the same has hitting only the ball?

Unfortunately, it says that only under 10-6-1 talking about contact that is or is not a foul and not under 7-2-1. Common sense tells me that it could easily be applied to OOB plays as well, but the rules, as written, don't back that up.

What most officials are saying, and then calling, is that it is not likely that B would hit all hand without touching some ball.

rainmaker Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
What most officials are saying, and then calling, is that it is not likely that B would hit all hand without touching some ball.
In other words, that on this play B hit some ball by definition. Sort of like Miss Manners saying that all babies and all brides are beautiful by definition.

SavaahnTy Mon Jul 18, 2005 01:30am

LOL.. you know what is interesting?

My female roommate, who I am trying to get to start officiating, made this comment as we were sitting here looking over this and many other posts.

" Why does it seem like some of those guys are just looking for ways to screw the players and show how smart they are for knowing the exact rule? "

I attempted to explain the " spirit of the rule " theory....

" So is it by the book... or " spirit "? How the **** am I supposed to know? "

ahhhh, the joys of officiating! :)

SavaahnTy Mon Jul 18, 2005 01:34am

CANUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

great great joke!!!! ( generals were due )

canuckrefguy Mon Jul 18, 2005 01:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
What most officials are saying, and then calling, is that it is not likely that B would hit all hand without touching some ball.
I would like to think that if B did not touch any of the ball, A should still keep possession - and that most if not all coaches would not have a problem with it (though it's foolish to assume what coaches won't complain about).

If a coach were to complain, I would blow my whistle, and immediately change my call to a foul on B1 :D

SavaahnTy Mon Jul 18, 2005 01:55am

AWSOME!

I thought I was the only one who has done that ;)

If I should have had a foul... but dont right away, and you wanna complain... then I will agree... I should make the correct call.

Thanks for your help coach!!!!

:) Having fun with the situation at the moment.

The Generals have to win sometime.. dont they?

blindzebra Mon Jul 18, 2005 02:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
What most officials are saying, and then calling, is that it is not likely that B would hit all hand without touching some ball.
In other words, that on this play B hit some ball by definition. Sort of like Miss Manners saying that all babies and all brides are beautiful by definition.

Or breathtaking if you are a Seinfeld fan.:D

rainmaker Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
...if you are a Seinfeld fan.:D
Which I"m not.

canuckrefguy Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
...if you are a Seinfeld fan.:D
Which I"m not.

Not that there's anything wrong with that.....:p

blindzebra Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
...if you are a Seinfeld fan.:D
Which I"m not.

Too bad, that came from one of their funniest shows.

They were in the Hamptons and George had a shrinkage problem and Elaine was called breathtaking by an attractive doctor, unfortunately he called an ugly baby breathtaking too.

alfreedog Mon Jul 18, 2005 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SavaahnTy
AWSOME!

I thought I was the only one who has done that ;)

If I should have had a foul... but dont right away, and you wanna complain... then I will agree... I should make the correct call.

Thanks for your help coach!!!!

:) Having fun with the situation at the moment.

The Generals have to win sometime.. dont they?



Like I said before give the ball or call a foul, but don't give the ball to B because you can by definition of the rules. That is what makes us great officials, all truth(rules) don't have to be spoken sometimes is just best to shut up and call the "game"

Back In The Saddle Mon Jul 18, 2005 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SavaahnTy
LOL.. you know what is interesting?

My female roommate, who I am trying to get to start officiating, made this comment as we were sitting here looking over this and many other posts.

" Why does it seem like some of those guys are just looking for ways to screw the players and show how smart they are for knowing the exact rule? "

I attempted to explain the " spirit of the rule " theory....

" So is it by the book... or " spirit "? How the **** am I supposed to know? "

ahhhh, the joys of officiating! :)

The Swiss have a saying: When the map and the terrain disagree, trust the terrain. When a very literal interpretation of the rules is at odds with the game, do what's right for the game. That is not to say that we can go out and do whatever we like, but when your head tells you one thing, and your gut tells you another, trust your gut.

Now I know I'm gonna get flamed to bits over this because the rules are the rules. I agree. However, in this case you have a fairly specific exception to the foul rule and we're debating how/if it applies to the oob rule. There's no case on it (as far as I know), no official interpretation (again, as far as I know) and the result of the literal application pits head against gut. And you'll notice that folks have been very careful to distinguish between the debate about the proper rule (the head part) and what they would normally do (the gut part).

I think your roommate is right. When the literal application of the rule only serves to screw the players and display the official's knowledge of the rules, something is wrong. We need officials who understand that. Git 'er signed up! :)

Camron Rust Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

However, in this case you have a fairly specific exception to the foul rule and we're debating how/if it applies to the oob rule. <FONT COLOR=RED>There's no case on it (as far as I know), no official interpretation (again, as far as I know) and the result of the literal application pits head against gut.</FONT>

What about the one that says the last player to touch the ball before it goes OOB is the one that has violated? ;)

tomegun Tue Jul 19, 2005 05:48am

I can't believe this thread is this big. How many people would really give the ball to B?

blindzebra Tue Jul 19, 2005 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
I can't believe this thread is this big. How many people would really give the ball to B?
So far only one, if I recall correctly. Even those on the semantics police are giving it to A.:D

I don't see the real problem, myself. The only way to read 10-6-1 is the hand is considered part of the ball when playing the ball. Now it takes a little leap to apply that to OOBs plays, but how much of a leap is it really?

If you must justify it by "seeing" B's hand touching the ball, go for it, the result is the same either way.;)

Back In The Saddle Tue Jul 19, 2005 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

However, in this case you have a fairly specific exception to the foul rule and we're debating how/if it applies to the oob rule. <FONT COLOR=RED>There's no case on it (as far as I know), no official interpretation (again, as far as I know) and the result of the literal application pits head against gut.</FONT>

What about the one that says the last player to touch the ball before it goes OOB is the one that has violated? ;)

You could easily argue that the lack of a case or official interpretation is in fact a tacit endorsement of the literal interpretation. But we're all pretty much in agreement that the literal interpretation is "wrong." Not wrong by rule, wrong by feel. Which is why pretty much everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.

rainmaker Tue Jul 19, 2005 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

mick Tue Jul 19, 2005 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

Uh, no, Jewel.
Both of you did not say that. ;)
mick

Back In The Saddle Tue Jul 19, 2005 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

That would be the PRETTY MUCH in "pretty much everyone." ;)

rainmaker Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

Uh, no, Jewel.
Both of you did not say that. ;)
mick

Okay, I give. What did we say?

blindzebra Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

Uh, no, Jewel.
Both of you did not say that. ;)
mick

Okay, I give. What did we say?

JR is giving the ball back to A, you are all by your lonesome on this one.:D

canuckrefguy Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:18am

Let's go to the videotape........
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Re #1: Unless I see B contact the ball, I call it oob on A, B's ball. My thinking is that if the defender is skilled enough to get all hand (and unless I see otherwise, that's what they did), then I want to reward that good defense.
Looks like BZ's gotcha on this one....although you did go on to clarify with this:

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
There's some gray area here, though. If the defender was AIMING for the hand, is the contact incidental? It is a play on the ball, since it aims to control the ball, but it does it through the dribbler's hand.
Me, I'm giving Juulie the benefit of the doubt here. I can't see her viewing the play and rewarding B1 for hitting A1's hand.

rainmaker Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

Uh, no, Jewel.
Both of you did not say that. ;)
mick

Okay, I give. What did we say?

JR is giving the ball back to A, you are all by your lonesome on this one.:D

Here's a direct quote from JR

"My position is legitimate(in my mind).....but wrong by rule.

You're right, Juulie; imo the only options by rule are a foul on B1 or a B throw-in. "

Also, I think Camron's on my side, too.

So, that makes three of us, not just one.

Frankly, I can't believe y'all are seriously giving the ball to A. If A is the last one to touch the ball, what else needs to be said? The book clearly states that the definition of "causes the ball to be oob" is "the last to touch." How could you possibly go against that? Since when to we deliberately and with malice aforethought contravene clear legal language to suit our own ideas of "common sense"? Seriously, I don't get it.

If B shoves the ball out of bounds, and A reaches for it, and just barely tips it, then it was really B that caused the ball to go out, even though A was the last to touch. How is that any different from the play under discussion?

canuckrefguy Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:57am

Ohhhhhhhhhhkay, I take it all back.

But the play you describe - "B shoves the ball out of bounds, and A reaches for it, and just barely tips it..." is COMPLETELY different than B slapping A's hand, causing the ball to go OOB - and frankly, I can't believe you don't believe the two are different!

I know what you are saying about the direct interpretation of the rule - then again, if you adopt my interpretation of "hand is part of the ball", it's not an issue ;)

Regardless, I defy anyone to identify an evaluator or top official - at any level - who would want us to give the ball to Team B if the play happened as described - B1 SLAPPING A1'S HAND, FORCING THE BALL OOB.

I've got a cold beer (a Canadian one, not that coloured tap water you guys suck back :p) that says you won't find one.

If that play happens, and you give it to B, I think any evaluator is going to at least question you about it - they'll remember it as "the play when Coach A went ballistic". And if you give the explanation you're giving here, I'm thinking they will have MORE questions.

Incidentally, I'm with tomegun - I can't believe this thread is so long !! :D

[Edited by canuckrefguy on Jul 20th, 2005 at 02:00 AM]

blindzebra Wed Jul 20, 2005 01:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

Uh, no, Jewel.
Both of you did not say that. ;)
mick

Okay, I give. What did we say?

JR is giving the ball back to A, you are all by your lonesome on this one.:D

Here's a direct quote from JR

"My position is legitimate(in my mind).....but wrong by rule.

You're right, Juulie; imo the only options by rule are a foul on B1 or a B throw-in. "

Also, I think Camron's on my side, too.

So, that makes three of us, not just one.

Frankly, I can't believe y'all are seriously giving the ball to A. If A is the last one to touch the ball, what else needs to be said? The book clearly states that the definition of "causes the ball to be oob" is "the last to touch." How could you possibly go against that? Since when to we deliberately and with malice aforethought contravene clear legal language to suit our own ideas of "common sense"? Seriously, I don't get it.

If B shoves the ball out of bounds, and A reaches for it, and just barely tips it, then it was really B that caused the ball to go out, even though A was the last to touch. How is that any different from the play under discussion?

This is JR's ruling Juulie:

PS- Personally, I'm in favor of giving the ball back to A for a throw-in. I think that this was the original purpose and intent of the rules. B shouldn't benefit or gain an advantage after initiating the physical contact in this case imo.

Like I said, you are alone in giving the ball to B. JR is using the spirit and intent of the rule, Cameron said he's never seen B just hit hand, so he's giving it to A, too.



Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 20, 2005 04:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...everyone has said they'd give the ball back to A. We only differ in the reasoning we'd apply to support our decision.
A significant minority (namely Jurassic and me!) have said that while we may not like the rule, we're going to give the ball to B, because that's the way we're supposed to do it. We have to enforce all the rules, even the ones we don't like.

Uh, no, Jewel.
Both of you did not say that. ;)
mick

Okay, I give. What did we say?

JR is giving the ball back to A, you are all by your lonesome on this one.:D

Here's a direct quote from JR

"My position is legitimate(in my mind).....but wrong by rule.

You're right, Juulie; imo the only options by rule are a foul on B1 or a B throw-in. "

Also, I think Camron's on my side, too.

So, that makes three of us, not just one.

Frankly, I can't believe y'all are seriously giving the ball to A. If A is the last one to touch the ball, what else needs to be said? The book clearly states that the definition of "causes the ball to be oob" is "the last to touch." How could you possibly go against that? Since when to we deliberately and with malice aforethought contravene clear legal language to suit our own ideas of "common sense"? Seriously, I don't get it.

If B shoves the ball out of bounds, and A reaches for it, and just barely tips it, then it was really B that caused the ball to go out, even though A was the last to touch. How is that any different from the play under discussion?

This is JR's ruling Juulie:

<font color = red>PS- Personally, I'm in favor of giving the ball back to A for a throw-in. I think that this was the original purpose and intent of the rules. B shouldn't benefit or gain an advantage after initiating the physical contact in this case imo</font>.

Like I said, you are alone in giving the ball to B. JR is using the spirit and intent of the rule, Cameron said he's never seen B just hit hand, so he's giving it to A, too.



Yup, that's what JR said and meant--way back.

rainmaker Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:27am

Okay, well I've misinterpreted JR then. Wow.

I don't mind being the only one who's correct when everyone else is two coaches, 15 players, and a gym full of fans. However, when everyone else is a discussion board full of experienced, authortative, and mostly intelligent referees, I gotta stop and take stock. Hmmm.....

Give me a day to think about this. I gotta figure out what's next for this ol' girl.

rainmaker Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Okay, well I've misinterpreted JR then. Wow.

I don't mind being the only one who's correct when everyone else is two coaches, 15 players, and a gym full of fans. However, when everyone else is a discussion board full of experienced, authortative, and mostly intelligent referees, I gotta stop and take stock. Hmmm.....

Give me a day to think about this. I gotta figure out what's next for this ol' girl.

I e-mailed our state interpreter and here are his exact words:


Ball out of bounds to Team A. When B1 hit the hand below the wrist, it is the same as hitting the ball, as the hand is part of the ball, thus B1 caused the ball to go out-of-bounds. An official would be in "hot water" if they ruled the opposite and my advise is never make a call you cannot explain.


So I guess I was wrong. Sheez, I feel like a dork. It explains a lot of yelling and complaining that I never understand. And it's one more thing to put on the list of poorly written rules.

M&M Guy Thu Jul 21, 2005 09:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
So I guess I was wrong. Sheez, I feel like a dork.
Hey, don't feel too bad; some of us have that feeling on a regular basis. ;)

I'm guessing some people might comment on your interpreter's statement on "the hand being part of the ball", but his reasoning is still in line with most people here. Whether you split the hair on the hand being part of the ball (which it really isn't; it just applies to whether a foul can be called), or you "see" that B touched some part of the ball as well as the hand, most of us agree it makes "game sense" to give it back to A.

As far as all the yelling you hear - it doesn't go away just because you're right. :)

mick Thu Jul 21, 2005 09:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
As far as all the yelling you hear - it doesn't go away just because you're right. :)
Good call, M&M Guy.

rainmaker Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:13am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
As far as all the yelling you hear - it doesn't go away just because you're right. :)
A little of it might!

Back In The Saddle Thu Jul 21, 2005 01:24pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
As far as all the yelling you hear - it doesn't go away just because you're right. :)
A little of it might!
Hope springs eternal :)

Mark Dexter Thu Jul 21, 2005 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker

Ball out of bounds to Team A. When B1 hit the hand below the wrist, it is the same as hitting the ball, as the hand is part of the ball, thus B1 caused the ball to go out-of-bounds. An official would be in "hot water" if they ruled the opposite and my advise is never make a call you cannot explain.

I agree with the interpretation but sheesh - a state interpreter saying "the hand is part of the ball" with NO qualification whatsoever? :rolleyes:

mick Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker

Ball out of bounds to Team A. When B1 hit the hand below the wrist, it is the same as hitting the ball, as the hand is part of the ball, thus B1 caused the ball to go out-of-bounds. An official would be in "hot water" if they ruled the opposite and my advise is never make a call you cannot explain.

I agree with the interpretation but sheesh - a state interpreter saying "the hand is part of the ball" with NO qualification whatsoever? :rolleyes:

The world is run by a C-minus average.

Junker Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:46pm

I'm going to start by admitting I haven't read all 7 pages of this thread but... I look at this situation as a place to use advantage/disadvantage. If the offensive player is not protecting the ball and leaving it out where the defensive player can get to it, I'm not going to bail the offensive player out and call a foul if the defender gets some skin on the pick. That being said, if the slap is loud and everyone hears it, you better call it or you will be in for a long night. As far as A hitting B's hand and knocking the ball out of bounds, I say give it to B as long as it's not so obvious that it will get you in trouble. I have no rules book quotations behind this, just some common sense developed from my games and having others watch me work.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1