The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 28, 2005, 07:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by tmp44
[/B]
(1)My question is does 10-3-4 cover grasping and pulling on the net or just the rim? I know I've only seen it called (as I'm sure is the case with almost all of us) when A1 dunks and pulls down on the rim in a showboating type manner.

(2) But let me take this one step further--let's say the BI occurs to TIE the game--could one foreseeably call the BI and the T?
(3) Say A1 goes for a layup, B1 slaps the backboard, wiping out the shot and getting a T assessed. Would the same scenerio happen here? Wipe out the shot and assess the T instead?
[/B][/QUOTE]Rule 10-3-4 sez it's a T to grasp the basket. The net and the rim are both part of the basket, as per FED rule 1-10-1. Grabbing either without doing so to prevent an injury is a T.

(2) Yes, you can call both BI and a T on the same play.See the language in case book play 9.11.4.

(3) Whoa. You got this one completely wrong from the git-go. Slapping the backboard NEVER wipes out a shot. And it's not a T to slap the backboard if you rule that the player did so while legitimately attempting to block a shot.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 28th, 2005 at 08:45 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1