The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Girls freshmen game. Pretty high level of ball for the age group. very close throughout.

Middle of the second quarter, A1 is at the line to shoot two. Crowd quiets down. Just as she starts her routine that leads to the shot, Coach B says (just loud enough), "She's gotta miss one, get the rebound." She swished it. I gave the coach The Look. Second shot. Same point in the routine, "Must be this one." Fortunately, she swished it again. He didn't try it again, but it made me wonder. How would you handle it? If she hadn't made that second one, I'd have called it disconcertion, and tossed him if he argued. Should I have T'd him anyway, just on principle? I thought it was pretty dirty, but after she made both shots, I figured she'd done the whacking for me!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 12:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
After the first one, I woulda stopped the game, walked over to the coach and quietly(just so that the two of us could hear) said something like "Coach, you're trying to disconcert the shooter. Please desist. I'm not gonna allow you to do that". Then I'm gonna turn my back and walk away- no arguments, no discussions, no questions answered. If the coach did it again on a missed FT, I would call a disconcertion violation. I wouldn't think of "T"ing the coach up right away- only if s/he persisted in trying to disconcert a FT shooter after having been warned not too. Most coachs do something like this because they don't have a clue what the appropriate rule is. Once they find out, they're usually smart enough to drop that little game.

Others may have different or better ways to handle that situation. Whatever works for you is fine- as long as you don't let the coach get away with something like this. Jmo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
First, I would have said loud enough were everyone could here me. Coach, you cannot disconcert the shooter. This way every in the vicinity will know that you are not allowed to do that. It goes along the same line as Team B at the lane spaces discussing who has the shooter or they raise their arms as if they are stretching and drops them just when the shooter starts their shooting motion disconcertion. Shooter miss violation another shot if they hit warning to player for taking the routine too far. Just my two pennies
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
This is one where I don't really think the conversation is even necessary. If she misses, call the violation. "Disconcertion, by the coach". Now, the coach knows s/he can't do that. If she keeps hitting the FTs, then she's obviously not being disconcerted, so it's not an issue.

Call it. Or don't. I wouldn't engage the coach at all for this. And I wouldn't T for it until I got to about the third violation.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
I can hardly wait for THE REPLY that we all know is coming!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
It goes along the same line as Team B at the lane spaces discussing who has the shooter or they raise their arms as if they are stretching and drops them just when the shooter starts their shooting motion disconcertion. Shooter miss violation another shot if they hit warning to player for taking the routine too far. Just my two pennies
Warn them in what manner? What is going too far?

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Call it. Or don't. I wouldn't engage the coach at all for this. And I wouldn't T for it until I got to about the third violation.
I agree with regard to not engaging him but I honestly don't think he's going to continue to do it if you call the disconcertion. And if I does, he probably wants the T, so I'll just keep calling it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just this side of crazy
Posts: 323
Had a girls Frosh game similar sitch to this with a girl shouting "I got shooter" just as the attempt was made.

After this happened on two attempts (Both made)I commented to her that she needed to call this out at a better moment or it would be a disconcertion.

and guess what - it stopped.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Okay, these all make sense, and sound about right to me. I'd rather have the shooter get her come-uppance as in my sitch. I don't usually believe in karma, but in cases like this...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
I have no T unless it just doesn't stop. Then I have to T up the caoch for unsporting play. If they hit it the shot I proabably wouldn't say much. If she misses I'd just call the violation. I'd say where everyone could hear, "We've got disconcerting the thrower on the Coach. Shoot it again" and give them the shot again.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2005, 08:23pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
I can hardly wait for THE REPLY that we all know is coming!
Before I read any more of this thread, are you referring to Rut's reply?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 22, 2005, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
If it continues and she misses, call the violation. If it continues, keep calling it. Sooner or later she'll make the shot and then we can play. If it's summer league and the clock is still running, what's the big deal? Hopefully she will get her shot down so when coach argues, she makes the T shots also.
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 23, 2005, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Is it within the rules to call a violation on a coach for disconcertion? 9-1-5 states, "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower." How are we to interpret opponent? I didn't spend hours with the rule book, but I looked for a little while and even did a little searching with the ARS disk, and I only found "opponent" referring to a player on the court. Could it be that by rule our only recourse is an unsporting technical?

[Edited by Rick Durkee on Jun 23rd, 2005 at 09:28 AM]
__________________
Insert cool signature line here!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 23, 2005, 09:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Is it within the rules to call a violation on a coach for disconcertion? 9-1-5 states, "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower." How are we to interpret opponent? I didn't spend hours with the rule book, but I looked for a little while and even did a little searching with the ARS disk, and I only found "opponent" referring to a player on the court. Could it be that by rule our only recourse is an unsporting technical?

[Edited by Rick Durkee on Jun 23rd, 2005 at 09:28 AM]
It's in an old POE - about 4/5 years ago-in the 2001/02 rule book iirw. Disconcertion does apply to the bench and anyone on it, and if you deem it unsporting at the same time you can call a "T" for it also.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 23, 2005, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Is it within the rules to call a violation on a coach for disconcertion? 9-1-5 states, "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower." How are we to interpret opponent? I didn't spend hours with the rule book, but I looked for a little while and even did a little searching with the ARS disk, and I only found "opponent" referring to a player on the court. Could it be that by rule our only recourse is an unsporting technical?

[Edited by Rick Durkee on Jun 23rd, 2005 at 09:28 AM]
It's in an old POE - about 4/5 years ago-in the 2001/02 rule book iirw. Disconcertion does apply to the bench and anyone on it, and if you deem it unsporting at the same time you can call a "T" for it also.
Thank you, J.R.
__________________
Insert cool signature line here!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1