The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another 3-seconds question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/2072-another-3-seconds-question.html)

Hawks Coach Tue Apr 03, 2001 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dhodges007

Now, it only restarts if it hits rim but not if it hits backboard...correct?

This is yet another possible explanation for these strange three second calls on rebounds. I know that many refs get confused as to what constitues a shot attempt (espcially with NCAA shot clock rules), and many of my players can't hit the broadside of a barn! We have airballs and hard off the backboard shots far too frequently. Good discussion, as usual.

Brian Watson Tue Apr 03, 2001 12:33pm

Hawk, you're probably right.

If memory serves you coach MS, so the caliber of official is not going to be very consistant.

The best thing that can happen is for local associations to cover these misunderstood rules every year for the rooks and stubborn vets.

BktBallRef Tue Apr 03, 2001 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Brian Watson
The count would not restart until team possession was re-established.
Just a samll clarification - the count would not restart unless the offensive team regained control.

Brian is correct that if the official judges it a shot, it's a shot whether it hits anything or not.

weewok Thu Sep 06, 2001 10:49am

Both feet?
 
In regards to the 3 second rule, do you have to have both feet out of the paint or just one? thanks.

weewok

mick Thu Sep 06, 2001 11:01am

Re: Both feet
 
Quote:

Originally posted by weewok
In regards to the 3 second rule, do you have to have both feet out of the paint or just one? thanks.

weewok

weewok,
During a three-second count, the count, <i>by rule</i>, proceeds until both feet are returned to and <u>have touched</u>, the unrestricted area (outside the lane), and not merely outside the plane of the lane.
mick

BktBallRef Thu Sep 06, 2001 09:41pm

Damn, mick.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by weewok
In regards to the 3 second rule, do you have to have both feet out of the paint or just one? thanks.

weewok

weewok,
During a three-second count, the count, <i>by rule</i>, proceeds until both feet are returned to and <u>have touched</u>, the unrestricted area (outside the lane), and not merely outside the plane of the lane.
mick

Both.

Peter Devana Thu Sep 06, 2001 11:53pm

The best advise I ever heard regarding the 3 sec call was never blow the whistle until you take a look at where the ball is and what it's status is. If the act of shooting has begun forget it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1