The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   basketball rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20717-basketball-rule.html)

joehoops11 Mon Jun 06, 2005 01:58pm

if a player goes out of bounds , does he have to establish both feet in bound before touch the ball again ?
i am pretty sure he does , but i can`t find the rule on it, can anyone help me on this?

Mark Padgett Mon Jun 06, 2005 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by joehoops11
if a player goes out of bounds , does he have to establish both feet in bound before touch the ball again ?
i am pretty sure he does , but i can`t find the rule on it, can anyone help me on this?

NF (high school) rules - only one foot is needed (as long as the other foot is still not touching OOB).

truerookie Mon Jun 06, 2005 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by joehoops11
if a player goes out of bounds , does he have to establish both feet in bound before touch the ball again ?
i am pretty sure he does , but i can`t find the rule on it, can anyone help me on this?

Did he/she go OOB on their own? If so a violation. If their momentum took them OOB all they need to do is re-establish themselves by having one foot touching inbounds. I don't have my book with me but is pretty sure about what I just told you.

drothamel Mon Jun 06, 2005 02:18pm

it is covered by one of the plays in the case book. Don't have it in front of me, but I know it is in there.

BktBallRef Mon Jun 06, 2005 02:40pm

4-35-1
The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:

a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.

Note that there's no requirement for two feet, nor is it a violation just because a player is OOB.

MPLAHE Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:22am

How about if he was last to touch it before going out of bounds? Can he be first to touch it if his momentum carried him out?

Camron Rust Tue Jun 07, 2005 02:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by MPLAHE
How about if he was last to touch it before going out of bounds? Can he be first to touch it if his momentum carried him out?
Yes.

OldCoachNewRef Tue Jun 07, 2005 01:21pm

This exact situation occurred with my daughter's team during a scrimmage on Sunday. Great save (high lob), stepped out, hustled back, made sure foot was down, secured the ball. Tweet, violation. I made the mistake of saying this isn't footbal from the stands and got a lecture that the ref has 20 years of experience and he was "certain" that was a violation. I didn't respond. If this had happened when I was coaching a few years back, I'm sure I would have been escorted out of the gym. I understand missed judgement calls, but I don't think there is an excuse for not knowing the rules. After officiating for two years now, I know there are good and bad officials, regardless of how long they have been working.

BktBallRef Tue Jun 07, 2005 02:29pm

7.1.1B
 
Print the case book play and hand it to him the next time you see him. :(

ysong Tue Jun 07, 2005 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by MPLAHE
How about if he was last to touch it before going out of bounds? Can he be first to touch it if his momentum carried him out?
Yes.

In NCAA, there is a case that says "A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily <U>and</U> was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court.".

Is there a similar case in NFHS casebook? (I could not find one in rulebooks).

What if A1 is in control the ball but somehow (if possible) he lost balance and goes OOB, can he allow to come back and be the first to touch the ball again?

Thanks.



Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 07, 2005 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ysong
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by MPLAHE
How about if he was last to touch it before going out of bounds? Can he be first to touch it if his momentum carried him out?
Yes.

In NCAA, there is a case that says "A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily <U>and</U> was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court.".

Is there a similar case in NFHS casebook? (I could not find one in rulebooks).

What if A1 is in control the ball but somehow (if possible) he lost balance and goes OOB, can he allow to come back and be the first to touch the ball again?

Thanks.



BktBallRef gave you the pertinent case book play about 2 hours before you posted this, Ysong.

Again, it's NFHS case book play 7.1.1SitB.

Nevadaref Thu Jun 09, 2005 03:25am

Other than the NFHS casebook play Tony cited there is nothing detailed in the NFHS books about this play because the committee just adopted this change. This coming season will be the first that going OOB without the ball will be a violation. This change caused widespread confusion in the NCAA ranks when it was put in last year. We can only hope that the NFHS will be very explicit in the wording of the rule and provide detailed casebook plays which explain when it should and when it should not be called.

We'll just have to wait for the new books to come out.

roadking Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:22am

i had it happen to me this year, player last touches ball inbounds, momentum caries him out of bounds. player hussles back inbounds and is first to gain cotrol of ball, play continues on. coach of the other team is all over me that player cannot do that. i give him the hand and tell him to check his rule book. during t.o. i explain the reason why it was a legal play.

ChuckElias Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
This change caused widespread confusion in the NCAA ranks when it was put in last year.
Really? I didn't hear any grumblings about it. Pretty easy, I thought.

If it should've been a T last year, then it's a violation this year. That's all. If it was legal last year, it's still legal.

rockyroad Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
This change caused widespread confusion in the NCAA ranks when it was put in last year.
Really? I didn't hear any grumblings about it. Pretty easy, I thought.

If it should've been a T last year, then it's a violation this year. That's all. If it was legal last year, it's still legal.

I wonder what "widespread" means?? I sure didn't hear any grumblings in my neck of the woods...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1