![]() |
if a player goes out of bounds , does he have to establish both feet in bound before touch the ball again ?
i am pretty sure he does , but i can`t find the rule on it, can anyone help me on this? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
it is covered by one of the plays in the case book. Don't have it in front of me, but I know it is in there.
|
4-35-1
The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being: a. Inbounds or out of bounds. b. In the frontcourt or backcourt. c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line. Note that there's no requirement for two feet, nor is it a violation just because a player is OOB. |
How about if he was last to touch it before going out of bounds? Can he be first to touch it if his momentum carried him out?
|
Quote:
|
This exact situation occurred with my daughter's team during a scrimmage on Sunday. Great save (high lob), stepped out, hustled back, made sure foot was down, secured the ball. Tweet, violation. I made the mistake of saying this isn't footbal from the stands and got a lecture that the ref has 20 years of experience and he was "certain" that was a violation. I didn't respond. If this had happened when I was coaching a few years back, I'm sure I would have been escorted out of the gym. I understand missed judgement calls, but I don't think there is an excuse for not knowing the rules. After officiating for two years now, I know there are good and bad officials, regardless of how long they have been working.
|
7.1.1B
Print the case book play and hand it to him the next time you see him. :(
|
Quote:
Is there a similar case in NFHS casebook? (I could not find one in rulebooks). What if A1 is in control the ball but somehow (if possible) he lost balance and goes OOB, can he allow to come back and be the first to touch the ball again? Thanks. |
Quote:
Again, it's NFHS case book play 7.1.1SitB. |
Other than the NFHS casebook play Tony cited there is nothing detailed in the NFHS books about this play because the committee just adopted this change. This coming season will be the first that going OOB without the ball will be a violation. This change caused widespread confusion in the NCAA ranks when it was put in last year. We can only hope that the NFHS will be very explicit in the wording of the rule and provide detailed casebook plays which explain when it should and when it should not be called.
We'll just have to wait for the new books to come out. |
i had it happen to me this year, player last touches ball inbounds, momentum caries him out of bounds. player hussles back inbounds and is first to gain cotrol of ball, play continues on. coach of the other team is all over me that player cannot do that. i give him the hand and tell him to check his rule book. during t.o. i explain the reason why it was a legal play.
|
Quote:
If it should've been a T last year, then it's a violation this year. That's all. If it was legal last year, it's still legal. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
btw...if things keep going as they have been neither of us will even see a damn wildcard this year. Maybe there will be a player's strike? |
Quote:
As in "Whoa, that one should have a license plate". |
Quote:
This is a perfect example of why we need to keep on top of the rules! If other officials are in the stands and KNOW the rule, then those on the court that blew the call just look horrible. But, as a word of warning, I know of a couple guys that have gotten into a fair bit of trouble for commenting in the stands about a fellow official's performance. Regardless of where we are, we're always being watched! I'm not a father yet, so I haven't had the pleasure of sitting in the stands to watch my son/daughter play, but I'm pretty vocal so I'm going to have to learn to just watch and keep quiet! |
Widespread to me covered most of the state of CA and several of the NCAA games that I saw on TV. PAC-10, WAC, WCC, etc.
It seems that many of the conference assignors were unclear on exactly what the NCAA committee wanted. Some that I know of were instucting their officials to call a violation if the player stepped out while going for a loose ball near the sideline and then that player was the first to touch the ball inbounds. I have spoken with quite a few NCAA officials who were told just that. Therefore, I chalk this up to some kinks due to the first year of the rule being in use, and they should get worked out over the next couple of seasons. What chuck said seems to come closest to my thoughts on the correct interp. If it was a T previously, now it is a violation. If it was legal previously, it is still legal. Although, the NCAA left the T in the book presumably to cover cases in which the player deceptively leaves the court. I suspect that the NFHS will do the same. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm. |