The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Stoudemire's blocked shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20623-stoudemires-blocked-shot.html)

Camron Rust Wed Jun 01, 2005 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Directly from the NCAA rules manual:

Art. 3. A player may have a hand legally in contact with the ball, when this contact continues after the ball enters the cylinder or when, in such action, the player touches the basket.

Doesn't specify offense or defense, as long as the contact begins legally.

And what's the NCAA call if the contact by a defender isn't made on the ball until after the ball had already entered the cylinder?

Apples and oranges.

Of course...but we're debating oranges and banannas.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 01, 2005 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

Apples and oranges.
Of course...but we're debating oranges and banannas. [/B]
Aw geeze, I'm in the wrong thread. Shoulda been in the underwater-banana-eating one. :)

SeanFitzRef Wed Jun 01, 2005 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Goaltending, if the ball is contacted, BI if the ring is contacted.
Actually, BI in both cases.

Goaltending only occurs on a try in downward flight outside the cylinder.

An it's only BI when the ring is contacted if the ball is touching the ring.

Thanks, Cam, I stand corrected.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1