The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Stoudemire's blocked shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20623-stoudemires-blocked-shot.html)

BktBallRef Tue May 31, 2005 05:57pm

Agree or disagree, I'm just glad we have something to discuss besides crazy camp stories and experience surveys. :)

rainmaker Tue May 31, 2005 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Agree or disagree, I'm just glad we have something to discuss besides crazy camp stories and experience surveys. :)
You're not interested in the underwater banana eating contest!?!

M&M Guy Tue May 31, 2005 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Agree or disagree, I'm just glad we have something to discuss besides crazy camp stories and experience surveys. :)
You're not interested in the underwater banana eating contest!?!

Any videos available?

tomegun Tue May 31, 2005 06:51pm

I would like to be eating popcorn and sitting next to the evaluator when someone calls this one. :D

I understand this debate in theory but in reality I think it should be left alone.

BktBallRef Tue May 31, 2005 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Agree or disagree, I'm just glad we have something to discuss besides crazy camp stories and experience surveys. :)
You're not interested in the underwater banana eating contest!?!

Actually, there are several threads that I haven't even opened.

ChuckElias Tue May 31, 2005 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Agree or disagree, I'm just glad we have something to discuss besides crazy camp stories and experience surveys. :)
Three and a half pages since this morning, seems like you're not the only one. :)

Nevadaref Wed Jun 01, 2005 07:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
NFHS Rule 9 SECTION 11 BASKET INTERFERENCE
...
EXCEPTION: In Articles 1 or 2, if <FONT COLOR=RED><B>a player</B></FONT> has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder...

I fail to see what's unclear about this. No BI. The exception says "a player", not a specific player. If the defender had his hand in contact with the ball before it entered the cylinder, his hand may legally remain in contact with it even if it enters the cylinder. The shooter doesn't get a free bucket for being able to push the blocker's hand over the rim.

I agree with Camron. The NFHS rule does not specify the offensive player. It says "a player."

The NBA rule does however specify the offensive player.

The NFHS certainly does specify the offensive player- right at the end of the EXCEPTION in R4-6.

The NFHS rule,as part of the EXCEPTION, very explicitly states: <b>"Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference"</b>. The whole EXCEPTION, as I read it, therefore relates <b>only</b> to someone trying to dunk or stuff the ball. If they wanted the EXCEPTION to relate to all of the players on the floor, they wouldn't have had to put that clarification at the end. It would be extraneous and wouldn't be needed at all.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on May 31st, 2005 at 02:37 PM]


JR is not right on this one and I can conclusively prove it.

Everyone please open your Simplified and Illustrated book to page 68 and look at diagrams 1 and 2 at the top of the page. They depict this exact play. The caption below quite clearly states (in part), "In (2), No. 4 forces the ball and the hand of No. 3 into the cylinder. There is no violation by either player and a held ball with alternating-possession results."

Now if I'd been around over the holiday weekend, I could have posted this earlier, but then everyone would have missed out on those 3 pages of fun.

For the record, I think Chuck's play, in which the defender doesn't touch the ball until AFTER it is already in the cylinder even though the offensive player hasn't released it yet during his dunk attempt, is basket interference. That rule should be amended. Simply make it so that the defender gets an exception to BI if the offensive player hasn't yet released the ball.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 01, 2005 08:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
NFHS Rule 9 SECTION 11 BASKET INTERFERENCE
...
EXCEPTION: In Articles 1 or 2, if <FONT COLOR=RED><B>a player</B></FONT> has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder...

I fail to see what's unclear about this. No BI. The exception says "a player", not a specific player. If the defender had his hand in contact with the ball before it entered the cylinder, his hand may legally remain in contact with it even if it enters the cylinder. The shooter doesn't get a free bucket for being able to push the blocker's hand over the rim.

I agree with Camron. The NFHS rule does not specify the offensive player. It says "a player."

The NBA rule does however specify the offensive player.

The NFHS certainly does specify the offensive player- right at the end of the EXCEPTION in R4-6.

The NFHS rule,as part of the EXCEPTION, very explicitly states: <b>"Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference"</b>. The whole EXCEPTION, as I read it, therefore relates <b>only</b> to someone trying to dunk or stuff the ball. If they wanted the EXCEPTION to relate to all of the players on the floor, they wouldn't have had to put that clarification at the end. It would be extraneous and wouldn't be needed at all.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on May 31st, 2005 at 02:37 PM]


JR is not right on this one and I can conclusively prove it.

Everyone please open your Simplified and Illustrated book to page 68 and look at diagrams 1 and 2 at the top of the page. They depict this exact play. The caption below quite clearly states (in part), "In (2), No. 4 forces the ball and the hand of No. 3 into the cylinder. There is no violation by either player and a held ball with alternating-possession results."

Now if I'd been around over the holiday weekend, I could have posted this earlier, but then everyone would have missed out on those 3 pages of fun.

For the record, I think Chuck's play, in which the defender doesn't touch the ball until AFTER it is already in the cylinder even though the offensive player hasn't released it yet during his dunk attempt, is basket interference. That rule should be amended. Simply make it so that the defender gets an exception to BI if the offensive player hasn't yet released the ball.

Nice try, Nevada. Too bad you're talking about something completely different than the play being discussed. We WERE discussing Chuck's sitch where the defender touched the ball AFTER the shooter put it in the cylinder. If we discussing the play that you are referencing above, we wouldn't have had to go to the Manual. We coulda just used the one in the rule book that covers it- i.e. casebook play 9.11.

The defender touching the ball AFTER it enters the cone on a dunk attempt is a completely different play.

Apples and oranges iow.

Nevadaref Wed Jun 01, 2005 08:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
NFHS Rule 9 SECTION 11 BASKET INTERFERENCE
...
EXCEPTION: In Articles 1 or 2, if <FONT COLOR=RED><B>a player</B> has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder...</FONT>

I fail to see what's unclear about this. No BI. The exception says "a player", not a specific player. <FONT COLOR=RED>If the defender had his hand in contact with the ball before it entered the cylinder, his hand may legally remain in contact with it even if it enters the cylinder. The shooter doesn't get a free bucket for being able to push the blocker's hand over the rim. </FONT>

I agree with Camron. The NFHS rule does not specify the offensive player. It says "a player."

The NBA rule does however specify the offensive player.

The NFHS certainly does specify the offensive player- right at the end of the EXCEPTION in R4-6.

The NFHS rule,as part of the EXCEPTION, very explicitly states: <b>"Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference"</b>. <FONT COLOR=RED>The whole EXCEPTION, as I read it, therefore relates <b>only</b> to someone trying to dunk or stuff the ball.</FONT> If they wanted the EXCEPTION to relate to all of the players on the floor, they wouldn't have had to put that clarification at the end. It would be extraneous and wouldn't be needed at all.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on May 31st, 2005 at 02:37 PM]


JR is not right on this one and I can conclusively prove it.

Everyone please open your Simplified and Illustrated book to page 68 and look at diagrams 1 and 2 at the top of the page. They depict this exact play. The caption below quite clearly states (in part), "In (2), No. 4 forces the ball and the hand of No. 3 into the cylinder. There is no violation by either player and a held ball with alternating-possession results."

Now if I'd been around over the holiday weekend, I could have posted this earlier, but then everyone would have missed out on those 3 pages of fun.

For the record, I think Chuck's play, in which the defender doesn't touch the ball until AFTER it is already in the cylinder even though the offensive player hasn't released it yet during his dunk attempt, is basket interference. That rule should be amended. Simply make it so that the defender gets an exception to BI if the offensive player hasn't yet released the ball.

Nice try, Nevada. Too bad you're talking about something completely different than the play being discussed. We WERE discussing Chuck's sitch where the defender touched the ball AFTER the shooter put it in the cylinder. If we discussing the play that you are referencing above, we wouldn't have had to go to the Manual. We coulda just used the one in the rule book that covers it- i.e. casebook play 9.11.

The defender touching the ball AFTER it enters the cone on a dunk attempt is a completely different play.

Apples and oranges iow.

If you say so, but that not what it looks like back on the first page, especially when one pays attention to the words in red above.

rainmaker Wed Jun 01, 2005 08:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The defender touching the ball AFTER it enters the cone on a dunk attempt is a completely different play.
CONE?? When did you and MTD,,,uh,,,, never mind. I don't want to know.

Camron Rust Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

JR is not right on this one and I can conclusively prove it.

Everyone please open your Simplified and Illustrated book to page 68 and look at diagrams 1 and 2 at the top of the page. They depict this exact play. The caption below quite clearly states (in part), "In (2), No. 4 forces the ball and the hand of No. 3 into the cylinder. There is no violation by either player and a held ball with alternating-possession results."

Now if I'd been around over the holiday weekend, I could have posted this earlier, but then everyone would have missed out on those 3 pages of fun.

For the record, I think Chuck's play, in which the defender doesn't touch the ball until AFTER it is already in the cylinder even though the offensive player hasn't released it yet during his dunk attempt, is basket interference. That rule should be amended. Simply make it so that the defender gets an exception to BI if the offensive player hasn't yet released the ball.

Nice try, Nevada. Too bad you're talking about something completely different than the play being discussed. We WERE discussing Chuck's sitch where the defender touched the ball AFTER the shooter put it in the cylinder. If we discussing the play that you are referencing above, we wouldn't have had to go to the Manual. We coulda just used the one in the rule book that covers it- i.e. casebook play 9.11.

The defender touching the ball AFTER it enters the cone on a dunk attempt is a completely different play.

Apples and oranges iow.

JR, Nevada is talking about the same play we all have for 3 pages: defense contacts ball outside and is pushed over the rim...no BI. I don't think anyone ever claimed that the defender could ever make first contact with the ball after it enters the cylinder.

In fact, you were talking specifically about the exception...which deals with a player making contact outside of the cylinder and continuing contact into the cylinder.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Jun 1st, 2005 at 11:54 AM]

SeanFitzRef Wed Jun 01, 2005 03:07pm

Directly from the NCAA rules manual:

Art. 3. A player may have a hand legally in contact with the ball, when this contact continues after the ball enters the cylinder or when, in such action, the player touches the basket.

Doesn't specify offense or defense, as long as the contact begins legally.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 01, 2005 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Directly from the NCAA rules manual:

Art. 3. A player may have a hand legally in contact with the ball, when this contact continues after the ball enters the cylinder or when, in such action, the player touches the basket.

Doesn't specify offense or defense, as long as the contact begins legally.

And what's the NCAA call if the contact by a defender isn't made on the ball until after the ball had already entered the cylinder?

Apples and oranges.

SeanFitzRef Wed Jun 01, 2005 03:37pm

Goaltending, if the ball is contacted, BI if the ring is contacted.

Camron Rust Wed Jun 01, 2005 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Goaltending, if the ball is contacted, BI if the ring is contacted.
Actually, BI in both cases.

Goaltending only occurs on a try in downward flight outside the cylinder.

An it's only BI when the ring is contacted if the ball is touching the ring.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1